2018-11-08 / Racing Roundup

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The 2018 racing season is in the books as the World of Outlaws concluded the season over the weekend with the World Finals at the Dirt Track at Charlotte.

Of course Mother Nature had to have her hands in the weekend but all racing was able to be completed in the three weekends.

Ian Madsen and Donny Schatz were the two 410 Sprint car winners with Madsen winning the Friday night feature which was ran Saturday afternoon due to rain. He took the win over Tim Shafer, Logan Schuchart,, Spencer Bayston and Greg Wilson.

Schatz won his 22nd Main of the Year in Saturday nights finale over Schuchart Brad Sweet, Tim Shaffer and Giovanni Scelzi.

Schatz claimed his 10th career WoO championship as well taking the title by 286 points over Sweet, David Gravel, Daryn Pittman and Shane Stewart. Ironically only the top two will be in the same rides in 2019 as Gravel will leave the CJB team and race for Bobbi Johnson and Jason Johnson Racing while Pittman’s deal with Kasey Kahne has ended due to no sponsorship. Stewart will move to the CJB team in 2019 while Carson Macedo replaces him at Kyle Larson Racing next year.

On the Late Model side, Brandon Sheppard and Scott Bloomquist were weekend winners with Sheppeard taking the Saturday afternoon main over Tim McCreadie, Mike Marlar, Bloomquist and Devin Moran, Rick Eckert was 19th and Jason Covert 22nd.

Bloomquist won Satuday night over Jonathon Davenport, Sheppard, Chase Junghans and McCreadie while Mike Marlar claimed his first career WoO title by 28 points over Sheppaard.

Return to top