2018-08-16 / Racing Roundup

Racing Roundp

By Brad Vores

Kyle Hardy picked up the win in Saturday night’s Clash for Cash/Red Nininger Memorial for Super Late Models at Hagerstown Speedway.

Hardy took the lead from Tyler Bare midway and ran off for his seventh career win at the track and first since the 2015 season. Following Hardy were Bare, McConnellsburg’s Marvin Winters, Roy Deese Jr., and Allen Brannon. Kirk Baker finished 13th.

Doug Hoffman won the Pure Stock Main at Hagerstown over Craig Parrill and Sam Archer.

Freddie Rahmer won for the third time in Lincoln Speedway 410 Sprint car action Saturday night, beating Chad Torut, Anthony Macri, Kyle Moody and Gerard McIntyre Jr., while Tyler Ross won the 358 Sprint Main over Jeff Halligan and Brent Shearer.

BAPS Motor Speedway hosted a rare Friday night 410 Sprint car event where Brian Montieth took the win over Ryan Smith, JJ Grasso, Mark Smith and Tyler Esh, while Zack Newlin won the 305 Sprint car feature over John Walp and Jaremi Hanson.

Cody Keller won Saturday’s 360 Sprint Car Main at Selinsgrove Speedway ahead of Mike Walter, Chad Layton, Davie Franek and Jason Shultz. Coleby Frye scored the Super Late Model win over Dylan Yoder, Shaun Jones, Jerry Bard and Jeff Rine.

Brad Sweet scored a thrilling win in Saturday night’s Five Hour Energy Knoxville 410 Sprint Nationals in Knoxville, Iowa. Sweet first had to fend off challenges from Kyle Larson then held off 10-time champ Donny Schatz by a scant .133 second margin of victory, the second closest in history. Schatz was second over Larson, Aaron Reutzel and Tim Kaeding. Pennsylvania driver Greg Hodnett won his preliminary night feature on Wednesday and finished 15th in Saturday night’s Nationals feature. Brock Zearfoss was the only other local driver in the Nationals feature, finishing 19th.

Return to top