2018-07-19 / Front Page

Central Fulton Says No To Forbes FCAVTS Pullout

Approves coaching, teaching, administrative staff
By Cassidy Pittman STAFF WRITER

At last Tuesday’s monthly Central Fulton School Board meeting, the board voted no to an agenda item allowing the Forbes Road School District to withdraw from the Fulton County Area Vocational Technical School (FCAVTS). The vote followed school solicitor Michael Miller’s clarification of the agenda line item that, according to the meeting minutes, was “written to honor Forbes Road’s request to withdraw from the FCAVTS Consortium.” The vote was unanimous.

Also, during the meeting, Erik Damgaard, director of FCAVTS, gave a slide presentation and discussed the benefits of the consortium as well as having the students of the Forbes Road School District stay in it.


The following coaching positions will be filled by the following people for the 2018-19 school year: Courtney Cox, volleyball junior high head coach at Step 3 for $1,995; Renee Earley, volleyball junior high assistant coach at Step 2 for $1,695; Teresa Booth as cross-country head coach as a volunteer; and Kathy Gable as a volunteer cross-country assistant coach; and Josh Lowery, boys basketball head coach at Step 3 for $3,145.

The school board approved the following coaching resignations: Drew Washabaugh as boys varsity basketball head coach as of May 31; Kylie Zittle as girls soccer volunteer coach as of June 28; and Hunter Miller as assistant girls soccer coach as of July 5;

The school board also approved the following teaching/ administrative staff: Eric Babcock was approved to assist in the technology department for 24 hours a week at the rate of $7.25 per hour for seven weeks during the summer. Bailey Elbin was approved as an elementary school teacher position with initial assignments in the first grade and will start on Aug. 28 at Step 1 for $45,479 per year. Jenna Hollenshead was approved for an elementary school teacher position with initial assignments in the first grade and will start on Aug. 28 at Step 1 for $45,479 per year. Amy Kline was approved as the agricultural science teacher starting Aug. 20 at Step 4 for $55,589 per year. Edith Quinby was approved as a math teacher starting on Aug. 20 at Step 4 for $55,589 per year. Timothy McCracken was approved as a special education teacher starting on Aug. 20 at master’s level for $52,478 per year.

The school board then approved Carol Hays and Holly Stambaugh as 2018-19 substitutes. Megan Bigelow and Karlee Wise were also approved pending mandated reporter training and arrest and conviction forms.

The verbal resignation of Michael Boos was accepted.


The school board approved Boyer and Ritter Certified Public Accountants and Consultants to serve as the district’s local auditors for the 2018-19 school year.

A full payment to ECI for the elementary building project was approved at a total of $144,662.14.

They also approved the Tuscarora School District Alternative Education Agreement for the 2018-19 school year of $55 per day per student. CFSD will be responsible for providing transportation.


The board approved changes in the daily rates for the extended school year. Tuesday’s transportation will be $349.51 per day, and Wednesday’s transportation rate will be $347.51. Tuesdays include speech class.

Samantha Marie Elmes was approved as a regular driver for Lynda Strait.

In other news, the school board approved the 2018-19 middle/high school handbook. The next school board meeting will be Aug. 14 at 7:30 p.m.

Board members present were Judy Messersmith, school board secretary, Julia E. E. Dovey, Christopher R. Hann, Rick E. Marshall, Jason M. Sharpe, Jeffrey Shearer, Gary L. Shives, Gregory L. Strait and Roger W. Strait. Cory L. Gress, school board president, was absent. Administration in attendance were Alicia Mellott, elementary principal; Billie Jo Beatty, assistant elementary principal; Amy Hershey, business manager; Christina Ramsey, middle/high school principal; Jessica Curfman, middle/high school assistant principal; Ginger Thompson, director of special education; and Dr. Michelle D. Hall, superintendent. Others in attendance included Erik Damgaard, director of FCAVTS; Penny Shives, resident; Randal Quinby, Edith Quinby, math teacher-elect; and Mary K. Seville, resident.

Return to top