2018-05-10 / Front Page

Primary Voters To Cast Ballots Tuesday, May 15

9 compete for Shuster’s U.S. House seat
By Cassidy Pittman

Next Tuesday Fulton County registered voters will return to the polls to cast their votes in the 2018 midterm primary election. About one-third of all U.S. senators (who serve six-year terms) are up for reelection and every member of the U.S. House of Representatives (who serve two-year terms) are up for re-election.

Also on the ballot are state and local elections happening in Pennsylvania and around the country.

The primary election ballot includes United States senator, governor, lieutenant governor, 13th District representative in Congress, 30th District senator for The General Assembly, 78th District representative in the General Assembly, Republican state committeeperson, and township committeeperson for Ayr, Licking Creek, McConnellsburg Borough, Taylor, Thompson, and Todd townships.

This year’s race for the 13th District representative in the U.S. Congress has a crowded field of nine, one Democrat and eight Republicans, including current state Sen. John Eichelberger, competing for the seat held by a Shuster, father and son, since 1973. This year, however, that will change as Congressman Bill Shuster, who took over his father’s seat in 2001, retires. According to a poll released by John Joyce’s campaign, Art Halvorson and Joyce are at the forefront of the race, with Eichelberger coming in after them.

These are the candidates vying for a spot on the November midterm election ballot:

United States Senator

 Jim Christiana (R) from Beaver County

 Lou Barletta (R) from Luzerne County

 Bob Casey Jr. (D) from Lackawanna County*


 Scott Wagner (R) from York County

 Paul Mango (R) from Allegheny County

 Laura Ellsworth (R) from Allegheny County

 Tom Wolf (D) from York County*

Lieutenant Governor

 Kathy Coder (R) from Allegheny County

 Diana Irey Vahughan (R) Washington County

 Jeff Bartos (R) Montgomery County

 Peg Luksik (R) Cambria County

 Kathi Cozzone (D) from Chester County

 John Fetterman (D) from Allegheny County

 Mike Stack (D) from Philadelphia County*

 Ray Sosa (D) from Montgomery County

 Nina Ahmad (D) from Philadelphia County

Representative in Congress – 13th District

 Ben Hornerberger (R) from Cumberland County

 Steve Bloom (R) from Cumberland County

 Dough Mastriano (R) from Franklin County

 Arthur L. Halvorson (R) from Bedford County

 Travis Schooley (R) from Franklin County

 John Joyce (R) from Blair County

 John H. Eichelberger Jr. (R) from Blair County

 Bernie Washabaugh II (R) from Franklin County

 Brent Ottoway (D) from Blair County

Senator in The General Assembly – 30th District

 Judy Ward (R) from Blair County

 Daniel Kiss (R) from Blair County

 Emily Best (D) from Fulton County

Representative in the General Assembly – 78th District

 Jesse Topper (R) from Bedford County*

 Deb Baughman (D) from Bedford County

Member of Republican State Committee

Stanley Kerlin (R) from Mc- Connellsburg

Fulton County Township Committeeperson

Ayr Hendricks (D), Kathleen Hendricks (D)

Licking Township: Robert Messick (D)

 McConnellsburg Borough: Wilda Charlene Gordon (D)

 Taylor Township: Karen Rosenberger (D), Donald Rosenberger (D)

 Thompson Township: Lester Litton (D), Carolyn Kligerman (D)

 Todd Township: Betty Shelley (D), Verna J. Petty John (D)

* Incumbent

Return to top