2018-03-08 / Front Page

Southern Fulton Creates Safety Committee

Hendershot resigns as boys varsity basketball coach
By Cassidy Pittman

The Southern Fulton School District Board met on Feb. 27 at 5 p.m. to approve a list of substitutes, use of school property, and to create a safety committee.

Superintendent Tara Will reported on safety issues within the district, and shortly after recommended creating a safety committee. The committee was approved and is to include Timothy Mellott, Jeff Hull, and Mark Mosemann. Superintendent Will also announced that Southern Fulton has received the Keystone Excellence Award and a 2017-2018 Distinguished School Award.


The board approved the following people and positions:

Norman Sheffield Jr., Colton Strait and Lynda Strait, substitute bus/van drivers for Greg Strait for the 2017-2018 school year;

Roger Strait, substitute bus driver for Shawn Weaver for the 2017-2018 school year;

Sarah Kretzer, substitute elementary teacher for the 2017- 2018 school year, pending completion of paperwork;

Natasha Souders, paid volunteer play adviser for the 2018- 2019 school year;

Carolyn Mottern, paid volunteer assistant play adviser for the 2018-2019 school year.

Julie Dickerhoff, paid volunteer assistant play adviser for the 2018-2019 school year; and

Jacob Silver, unpaid volunteer track and field coach for the 2017-2018 school year.

The board also accepted the following resignations:

Kent Hendershot, boys varsity basketball coach and Stephen Carroll, boys varsity assistant soccer coach, both effective immediately. The board will be advertising for the positions.

Regarding the Southern Fulton Trap Team, students have so far obtained a clarification from an insurance carrier, copy of insurance rider, completed a successful union discussion, and received approval of the following list of unpaid volunteer advisers and assistants: Dani Brady, Steven Sellers, Jerry Mc- Donald, John Keefer Jr., Joseph Stallman, Daryl Carbaugh, Richard Sheffield Sr., and William Watson III.

In other personnel news, the Personnel Committee will join the school’s Technology Committee to receive student and teacher input regarding technology decisions being made in the district. The board also approved the job description for the high school office guidance secretary.

Building and grounds

The school board approved the following use of school property for student-related activities:

Southern Fulton Art Honor Society to use the elementary school on Saturday, April 28, and Sunday, April 29, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for the Annual Art Festival;

Southern Fulton Trap Team to use the high school cafeteria on Saturday, Feb. 10 and 24, from 10 a.m. to noon for a parent/ student information meeting;

Kadi Mellott to hold a Southern Fulton Talent Night in the high school auditorium on March 15 from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. and on March 17 from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. for her senior project;

Southern Fulton cheerleaders to use the high school cafeteria on Wednesday, March 21, from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. for an end-of-season banquet; and

WAYS Soccer to use any available fields on weekdays from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. and Saturdays during daylight hours from March 15, 2018, to Oct. 31, 2018.

The board also approved moving forward with the elementary security entrance. The high school paving contract was awarded to P&W Excavating. The elementary school roof contract was awarded to American Roofing. A new 100-ton Chiller is slated to be installed in 8 to 10 weeks.

In other news, the board approved the Prom Committee to go to Greencastle to decorate for the prom on May 18, and a mobile dentist program was also approved for the 2018-2019 school year. Lastly, the board approved providing two individual all-sports passes for the 2018- 2019 school year to the Southern Fulton Education Foundation. The passes will be auctioned off at the foundation’s signature fundraising event scheduled for March 24.

Board members present were Allen Morton, Patrick Bard, Jeff Hull, Kirk Layton, Richard Morgan, Timothy Mellott, Mike Mosemann and Donnie Gordon. Also present were Tara Will, superintendent; Meredith Hendershot, high school principal; Terry Bard, high school vice principal; Kathy Cutchall, elementary principal; Doug Leisher, technology specialist; John Bain, building and grounds supervisor; and Debra Schetrompf, business manager; and MaryAnn Johnson, board secretary. Visitors present included Brian Pittman, Donny Jordan, and Mike Breslin.

Return to top