2017-12-07 / Racing Roundup

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Susquehanna Speedway honored its top drivers this past Saturday night at its annual awards banquet in Gettysburg.

Scott Dellinger was honored as a first-time Super Sportsman track champion. Dellinger won three races on the season and was consistent all year long to put together the title run.

Following Dellinger were Russ Mitten, Kenny Edkin, Mike Enders and Jay Fannasy.

Chase Gutshall was named Super Sportsman Rookie of the Year.

Randy Christine Jr. successfully defended his 358 Late Model track title again with his second straight. Christine had four wins to take the title over Sean Merkel, Matt Murphy, Sam Rial and Chase Billet. Eric Hohol was named Rookie of the Year.

Craig Morgan was the Street Stock champion, Alex Updegraff the Extreme Stocks and Zach Newlin 305 Sprints.

Susquehanna has sold the naming rights to the speedway for the next five years with an option for 10 years. The track will be known as BAPS Motor Speedway from 2018 forward. The track will open sometime in March and will still feature the same Saturday night regular divisions.

Return to top