2017-11-16 / Racing Roundup

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Now that the 2017 racing season is in the books, we’ll take a look back at the season for each track, highlight track champions and other events at each speedway.

Before we get to that, there was some big news on the local scene last week as BAPS Auto Paints and Supplies has purchased the naming rights at Susquehanna Speedway for the next five seasons, with an option for 10. The track will now be knows as BAPS Motor Speedway. This isn’t something that normally happens in local grassroots dirt track racing, but the folks at Susquehanna are always looking to be one step ahead. It appears everything else will remain status quo at the track, but perhaps a big announcement is forthcoming about a big 410 Sprint car show.

The other news item last week is that the long-running Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek has ceased operations effective immediately. This series was a big draw but in recent years found some tough goings and decided to scale back.

Young Mercersburg racer Kyle Lee made quite a debut in the Super Late Model ranks this season at Hagerstown Speedway, winning the track championship as a rookie. Lee had one feature win and 12 top-10 finishes in 13 starts to capture the title by 15 points over McConnellsburg’s Marvin Winters. Winters scored two wins this season and also had 12 top-10 finishes. Rounding out the top-five in final points were Gary Stuhler, who led with three wins, Roy Deese Jr. and Scott Palmer.

Kyle Lee had a super season in the Limited Late Models, winning seven features and dominating the points to secure the track title by a 224-point margin. Lear finished in the top-10 in all 15 starts and was top-five in 13 of those starts. Alan Sagi was second in season points followed by Michael Walls, Paul Cursey Jr. and Barry Miller.

Sean Dawson won the Pure Stock track title in 2017 with one feature win and 17 top-10 finishes. He won the title by a scant 15 points over nine-time winner Craig Parrill, who also had 15 to 10 finishes but missed two races during the season. Nick Dibella, Keith Koontz and Brandon Chuchey completed the top five.

Davey Gross Jr. was the Hobby Stock track champion after scoring three wins and 16 top-10 finishes. He finished 18 points over Jamie Mills for the title. Willie Long, James Speelman and John Catlett were the top five in final points. Track officials are currently working on the 2018 schedule.

Return to top