2017-07-13 / Racing Roundup

Racing Roundup

PA Sprint Speedweek 2017 is now in the books, with Lucas Wolfe earning his third career PA Speedweek series title after a week of consistent finishes and good time trial laps. Wolfe didn’t win during the nine races but was good enough to take the title with a total of 1142 points ahead of Danny Dietrich (1113), Freddie Rahmer (1022), Brock Zearfoss (972) and James McFadden (905).

NASCAR point-leader Kyle Larson invaded PA Speedweek beginning Sunday night at Path Valley Speedway where he picked up his first of three straight Speedweek wins.

His Path Valley win came over Brock Zearfoss, Lucas Wolfe, Kyle Moody and Greg Hodnett. Mike Wagner dropped out and was paid for 24th.

Larson won Monday night at Lincoln Speedway over Alan Krimes, Dale Blaney, Lucas Wolfe and Trey Starks.

Speedweek continued Tuesday at Grandview Speedway where it was Larson once again taking the checkered flag over Freddie Rahmer, Danny Dietrich, Ryan Taylor and Alan Krimes.

Lance Dewease ended Larson’s win streak Wednesday at Hagerstown Speedway as he picked up the win over Freddie Rahmer, Rico Abreu, Ryan Smith and Danny Dietrich, with Mike Wagner coming home in the sixth spot.

Trey Starks took the biggest win of the week in Friday’s Mitch Smith Memorial at Williams Grove Speedway with the big $10,000 win over Brock Zearfoss,, Aaron Ott, Matt Campbell and Lucas Wolfe.

Dewease came back strong to dominate Saturday night Speedweek action at Port Royal Speedway to take the win over Lucas Wolfe, Dale Blaney, Trey Starks and Greg Hodnett. Mike Wagner nursed an ill-sounding car home ninth, with Logan Wagner 22nd.

In Sunday’s finale at Selinsgrove Speedway, it was Rico Abreu scoring his first ever Central PA win over Danny Dietrich, Dale Blaney, Blane Heimbach and Greg Hodnett.

Young Mercersburg driver Kyle Lee captured his first career Super Late Model win Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway. Lee had won in two other divisions at the track but never in the super as he scored the win over Bryan Bernheisel, Roy Deese Jr., Trever Feathers and Andy Anderson. Marvin Winters crossed in sixth and Tyler Hershey was eighth.

Kyle Lear won the Late Model Sportsman feature over Barry Miller, Alan Sagi, Dan Zechman and Paul Cursey Jr., while Craig Parrill won another Pure Stock feature.

Jeff Rine came home with the Late Model win Saturday at Port Royal Speedway over Dylan Yoder, Coleby Frye, Andy Haus and Nick Dickson.

Todd Gracey won Saturday’s 358 Sprint championship at Lincoln Speedway over Chandler Leiby, Tyler Ross, Chase Dietz and Scott Fisher, while Steve Owings was the Friday night 358 Sprint car winner at Trail- Way Speedway over Isaac Sneeringer and Cody Fletcher.

Russ Mitten took his second Super Sportsman win of the season Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway over Scott Dellinger, Steve Fannasy, Devin Beidel and Kenny Edkin, while 16-yearold Kyle Craker took his first career 305 Sprint car win at the track over Ken Duke Jr., Kyle Ganoe, Zach Newlin and Stephanie Dodson.

Return to top