2016-11-17 / Racing Roundup

Top Drivers Honored At Hagerstown Banquet

By Brad Vores

Last weekend, Hagerstown Speedway, under the Dirt Capitol LLC banner, honored its top drivers from the 2016 racing season including track champions, top 10 and various other special awards at its banquet at the Elks Lodge in Hagerstown.

After winning the Late Model Sportsman championship in 2015, Scott Palmer came away with his first career Super Late Model track championship in 2016 as a rookie driver, besting runner up Matt Cosner by a mere six points. Gary Stuhler, Marvin Winters and Keith Jackson were the top-five Late Model point finishers.

Special awards win the Late Model division were Brad Omps (Sportsmanship), Matt Cosner (Most Improved), Trever Feathers (Hard Luck) and Jon Piper (Mechanic of the Year).

Mercersburg racer Kyle Lee recorded the track championship in the Late Model Sportsman division, defeating Justin Weaver by three points. Rounding out the top five in points were Alan Sagi, James Lichliter and Rodney Walls.

James Lichliter won both the Sportsmanship and Most Improved in the LMS, while Justin Weaver was the Hard Luck driver and Dougie Timmons the Mechanic of the Year.

Craig Parrill won the 2016 Pure Stock track title over Jamie Zentmyer, leading winner Chris Ebersole, Keith Koontz and Sean Dawson. Ebersole was the Sportsmanship winner, Shane Wilt the Most Improved and Rookie of the Year, Sean Dawson the Hard Luck and Jimmy Parrill the Mechanic of the Year.

Jamie Mills was the Hobby Stock track champion, and Mike Corbin was the EMod track champion.

Roy Anderson and Ernie Davis were inducted in the Hagerstown Speedway Hall of Fame.

Preparations are already underway for the 2017 racing schedule under the Dirt Capitol LLC banner.

Return to top