2014-08-21 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway Results

Every time the Sidewinder Sprints race they invite the 600cc Micro Sprint teams to race with them, which allows those teams the chance for multiple races in the same night. Recently at Path Valley Speedway, the 600cc Micro Sprint teams have been showing the way.

Dillon Wilson started first and led all 20 laps to win the Mini Stock feature. Wilson led Korey Washinger by four car lengths at the finish and it was the fourth win of the season for Wilson.

Brian Hart took the lead from his second-place starting position at the drop of the green flag in the 270cc Micro Sprint feature. He continued to set the pace until Brian Heist powered past exiting Turn 4 on a restart on Lap 5. Josh Stoyer went from fourth to second on the same restart and was inching closer to Heist when he suffered engine problems and coasted to a stop on Lap 11. Jason Houtz inherited second place at that point, but could not match Heist’s pace the last 10 laps. Heist crossed the finish line with a full straightaway advantage over Houtz. Adam Warner posted a solid third-place finish, ahead of Hart and Stone Keller.

Jim Young started second in the first of two 15-lap Sidewinder Sprint features. Young took the lead on Lap 1 and was never challenged after that, leading Aaron Spahr across the line by a few car lengths. Garrett Bard was third, followed by Brandon Yarlett and Rohan Beasley.

In the second Sidewinder Sprint feature it was Garrett Bard starting second and leading all 15 laps to claim victory.

Thirteen-year old Justin Whittall makes the trek from Vincentown, N.J., with his father to race in the ACMS Stock 600cc Micro Sprint races. Whittall made the drive home seem a bit shorter this week by leading all 20- laps, scoring his second win of the year and first ever at Path Valley Speedway. Whittall was in control the whole time, leading by a full straightaway when the checkered flag waved. Drew Ritchey finished second, Gunnar Layton third, Tim Glacken fourth and Sean Garman fifth.

In the Street Stock feature Cris Edwards was the polesitter and took the lead on Lap 1. Edwards was cruising along, leading by six car lengths, when his right front suspension broke entering Turn 3 on Lap 8. Ronnie Garlock assumed the lead on the restart and led the last 13 laps to win his first feature in the Street Stock division. Ken Singer closed in on Garlock the last few laps, but ran out of time, losing by two car lengths.

Garrett Bard earned his second feature win of the night by leading from startto finish in the 600cc Micro Sprint event. A yellow flag set up a one-lap dash to the finish. While Bard was out in front, Jim Young passed two on the final lap to go from fourth to second. Aaron Spahr finished third, meaning the combination of Bard, Young, and Spahr were the top three finishers in all three features they ran. Dwayne Gutshall was fourth and Travis Scott fifth.

Carmen Perigo and the Walt Bigler Racing team have been close to perfect in the Wingless Super Sportsman series at Path Valley Speedway. Perigo finished second in the first of the sixrace series but has not been beat in the next four events.

Charlie Stallman returned to victory lane by leading all 20 laps of the 4- Cylinder Thunder Car feature. Stallman was never seriously challenged as D.J. Keefer ran second the whole way. Barry Snyder showed improvement and was right behind Keefer in third. Justin Rasp finished fourth and Kyle Martin fifth.

The Mini Stock feature was a two-car battle for the lead. Chris Anderson was in front with Shaine Sixeas right behind, and the two leaders pulled away from the rest of the field. Jeremy Ott worked his way up to third, but could not gain ground on the leaders. The final caution came out with three laps to go when a freeze plug in Troy Cramer’s engine came out, dropping his coolant onto the track in Turn 3. Kurt Knepper hit the fluid and slid into the outside wall, ending his night. On the restart Anderson’s car lost traction after driving over some of the residual fluid, slowing Anderson and opening the door for Sixeas. Sixeas led the final three laps to secure the win. Anderson was able to hold off a late charge by Gary Newell to hold on to second.

After Carmen Perigo won his third Wingless Super Sportsman race in a row, a $400 “bounty” was added to the purse for anyone else that could win, provided Perigo was still on the track at the finish. Sixteen other drivers signed in, hoping to take home the extra money, but none of them were able to do so. Perigo did have some luck on his side. During the re-draw for the feature starting positions Perigo pulled the number one, giving him the pole position. Perigo took the lead at the drop of the green and was followed closely by Joey Biasi. As they approached the halfway point in the 25-lap event, Biasi began to fade back. Over the last 10 laps Steve Wilbur started moving forward, eventually driving past Biasi and into second. By then Perigo was over a full straightaway ahead, leaving no chance for Wilbur to get close. Perigo cruised to the win, followed by Wilbur, Biasi, Todd Leonard and Chris Meleason.

Two other notes from the Sportsman ranks. First, Dave Conrad went for a nasty ride during his heat race, flipping several times, clearing the guardrail in turn three and knocking over the catch fence. Conrad climbed from the car under his own power but was transported to a local hospital for further evaluation.

On the first lap of the Super Stock feature Brad McGinnis, Alex Boozel and Bill Powell were three wide through turns 3 and 4. When leader Curt Dunn slipped exiting turn four, Boozel rocketed out of the middle of the three-wide battle to grab the lead. Boozel extended his lead while Powell and McGinnis worked their way around Dunn and into second and third. Boozel had to work past some slower cars in the closing laps, but was able to maintain his lead and capture the checkered flag.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, August 22: Thunder- Mini-V8 Super Stock-Late Models-4 Cyl. Strictly Stock.

Saturday, August 23: AMA Motorcycle & Quad Flat Track.

Return to top