2014-01-23 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The North American 410 Sprint Car Poll voting panel has announced its top 25 drivers of the 2013 racing season and, to no one’s surprise, Donny Schatz once again sits on top of the list for a sixth time in his career.

I am a voting member on this panel and there has been some pushback from fan bases around the county as to why Daryn Pittman or Fred Rahmer weren’t named the top driver.

I’ll give the reasons: Donny Schatz crushed the competition all season long, winning 23 World of Outlaw races compared to Pittman’s eight and Rahmer’s seven. Schatz also started dead last in the Knoxville Nationals and Won! That my friends, is more than deserving of number one status! It doesn’t matter that he finished runnerup in WoO points only because Pittman had more qualifying points than he did.

Pittman was voted second over Paul McMahan, Tim Kaeding and Rahmer with Craig Dollansky, Sammy Swindell, Dale Blaney, Joey Saldana and Steve Kinser in the top 10. Greg Hodnett (11th) and Brian Montieth (15th) were the only other two Pennsylvania drivers in the top 25.

On the 360 Sprint car side of things, Jason Johnson, the ASCS National Tour champion, was voted number one ahead of Johnny Herrera, Shane Stewart, Jeff Swindell and Roger Crockett. URC champ JJ Grasso was eighth, and Pennsylania 358 Sprint car racer Pat Cannon came in at number 25.

For the first time in 10 years, the World of Outlaws Sprint cars will return to Port Royal Speedway. The race will take place on October 25 at the Port.

Return to top