2014-01-09 / Local & State

Cattlemens Beef Board Appointments Announced

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced 41 appointments to the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve three-year terms.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are: James H. Smith, Springfield, Ark.; Joanne M. Stanko, Steamboat Springs, Colo.; Bradley E. Etheridge, Williston, Fla.; Lynn C. Keetch, Montpelier, Idaho; Jeanne L. Harland, La- Fayette, Ill.; Donald E. Gurtner, Fremont, Ind.; Kent E. Pruismann, Rock Valley, Iowa; Brian L. Sampson, Nevada, Iowa.; Beth G. Patterson, Yates City, Kan.; Brittany J. Howell, LaCrosse, Kan.; Julianna G. Jepson, Franklin, Ky.; Steven H. Matthees, Goodhue, Minn.; Brenda L. Black, Deepwater, Mo.; Howard W. Hardecke, Springfield, Mo.; Leo McDonnell, Columbus, Mont.; David J. Wright, Neligh, Neb.; Albert T. Davis, Hyannis, Neb.; Patricia J. Bilkowsky, Madison, N.Y.; James M. Schmidt, Menoken, N. D.; Peter J. Guglielmino, Kettle Falls, Wash. ( representing the Northwest Unit); Davis W. Denman, Cortland, Ohio; Terry L. Detrick, Ames, Okla.; Chuck R. Coffey, Springer, Okla.; Patricia A. Venable, Klamath Falls, Ore.; Jana L. Malot, Harrisonville, Pa.; Vaughn R. Meyer, Reva, S.D.; Robert Q. Fountain, Jr., Adrian, Ga.; Max Bozeman, Jr., Elba, Ala. (representing the Southeast Unit); James I. Maxey, Fresno, Calif.; Michael T. Smith, Visalia, Calif. (representing the Southwest Unit); Paul A. Moss, Cottage Grove, Tenn.; Chuck A. Kiker III, Beaumont, Texas; Steven J. Mafrige, Tilden, Texas; Anne I. Anderson, Austin, Texas; Janna D. Stubbs, Alpine, Texas; Tim R. Pennell, Westhott, Texas; Joseph W. Gutherie, Dublin, Va.; and Lloyd DeRuyter, Cedar Grove, Wis.

Newly appointed members representing importers are Lawrence I. Bryant, Burke, Va.; Fred A. Sorbello, Mullica Hill, N.J.; and Terry J. Meikle, Washington, D.C.

The 103-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importers certified organizations.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, authorized by Congress and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 20 research and promotion boards. They empower agricultural industries by establishing a framework for them to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, helping to ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

Return to top