2013-10-31 / Front Page

Municipal Election This Tuesday

Voters to head to polls November 5
By Chanin Rotz-Mountz


Fulton County registered voters are slated to head to the polls this Tuesday to help decide several important races ranging from judge of the Fulton/Franklin County Court of Common Pleas and school board directors to township supervisors.

According to the county’s election registration statistics, in total, 8,147 registered voters are eligible to vote during the November 5 municipal election, with the 12 polling precincts opening at 7 a.m. and wrapping up at 8 p.m.

Directions and maps to the polling place locations as well as sample ballots are currently available on the county’s Web site found at www.co.fulton.pa.us. Furthermore, the election proclamation outlining which offices are up for election can be found in this week’s edition of the “News.”

Fulton/Franklin County Court of Common Pleas

Judicial candidates Jeremiah Zook and Jeffrey S. Evans will be squaring off again next Tuesday, with the highest vote recipient being proclaimed the newest judge of 39th Judicial District, which encompasses both Fulton and Franklin counties.

Both Zook and Evans crossfiled for the spring election. The candidates split the nominations, with Zook receiving the nod from Republican voters, while Evans received the Democratic nomination.

Evans, a private practice attorney based out of Waynesboro, offers 23 years experience in a variety of areas, including criminal defense, civil, personal injury, real estate and family law. Zook, who currently is an assistant district attorney in neighboring Franklin County, has a total of 12 years experience in the courtroom as a litigator.


Incumbent Patty Suders Fix, who secured both the Republican and Democratic Party nominations in the spring, will remain unchallenged this fall. Fix is seeking her fifth term of office as prothonotary and spoke last Friday at the Republican fall dinner. See related story for more information.

School directors

Of the three county school districts, only the Southern Fulton School District has a contested race for a four-year term as school director. Voters in Belfast, Bethel, Brush Creek, Thompson and Union townships and the Valley- Hi Borough will decide between five candidates for four positions. Newcomer Scott W. Hendershot (D) is joined on the ballot by incumbents Patrick L. Bard (R/D), Mark R. Mosemann (R/D), L. Allen Morton (R/D) and Timothy Hull (R).

In addition, Eric Barnhart, who was previously appointed by the board to fill a vacant position, is running uncontested for a twoyear term on the board.

At the Central Fulton School District, which includes Ayr, Licking Creek and Todd townships and McConnellsburg Borough, only three candidates have filed for four positions. Julia Elvey Dovey, Hollie L. Garlock and Brent L. Carlson previously crossfiled and secured nominations from both Republican and Democratic voters.

A similar situation exists at the Forbes Road School District where three incumbents are competing for a total of four four-year positions. Chanin D. Rotz-Mountz (R), Kirby Shoemaker (R/D) and Stacy Lynn Keller (R/D) are listed on the November 5 ballot for consideration by voters in Dublin, Taylor and Wells townships Margaret “Peggy” Bolinger of Wells Tannery is the lone individual to have announced a write-in campaign of this time.

Contested township races

After having lost the nomination in the spring, longtime Ayr Township supervisor Thurman E. Nesbitt III has launched a write-in campaign for the November 5 municipal election. Nesbitt is hoping to retain his position on the Board of Supervisors and defeat Russell C. Harmon. Harmon is currently listed on the ballot as having secured the Republican and Democratic nominations.

In Dublin Township, John Mixell (D) is hoping to secure his first term of office with the board of supervisors. Meanwhile, Tom Taylor is seeking write-in votes for the same supervisor’s position.

In Taylor Township, with longtime tax collector Judy Appleby preparing to step down from her position, Patricia Sue Hann (R) is hoping to slide into the position after having worked under Appleby’s wing as an assistant in recent years. Hann is expected to receive some competition Tuesday as township resident Lisa Skiles is running as a write-in candidate.

Randy Wills (R) is currently uncontested on the ballot for a position on the Union Township Board of Supervisors. Wills, however, will likely be seeing competition come his way from current supervisor and roadmaster Gary Sheeder, who is seeking write-in votes.

What appears to be a threeway race for the position of Wells Township supervisor is currently under way. In the spring, Kevin Bricker ousted Shannon Barton for the Republican nomination for a four-year position on the board of supervisors. Bricker is currently the lone candidate on the ballot Tuesday, but write-in votes are being sought by contenders Byron Helsel and Carl Duane Souders.

Uncontested township positions

There are a multitude of uncontested races currently listed on the ballot for November 5. A full listing of candidates and the positions they are seeking can be found in the county’s election proclamation published in this week’s edition of the “News” or on the county’s Web site at www.co.fulton. pa.us.

Return to top