2013-10-03 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Finally! After three unsuccessful attempts at completing the Brawl in the Fall from last November, Hagerstown Speedway got a beautiful day on Sunday for the event that saw Gregg Satterlee, Don Kreitz Jr. Brett Hearn and Adrian Shaffer score feature wins.

Satterlee came from his sixth starting spot to take the lead on Lap 16 of the 50- lap Late Model Main and drove to the $10,000 payday over Jason Covert, Rusty Sites, Gary Stuhler and Vic Coffey. Marvin Winters was 10th.

Don Kreitz, Jr. dominated the 30-lap 410 Sprint car main in the $7,500 win over Lance Dewease, Gerard McIntyre, Mark Smith and Blane Heimbach.

Adrian Shaffer won the 25-lap 358 Sprint car main over Ryan Wilson, Ted Thomas Jr., Mark Smith and Dale Hammaker; Brett Hearn was the big block modified winner over Matt Sheppard and JR Heffner.

Don Kreitz Jr. tuned up for this weekend’s World of Outlaws National open with a Friday night Outlaw Tuneup win at Williams Grove Speedway.

Kreitz took the win over his team car driven by Ryan Smith, Brian Montieth, Greg Hodnett and Alan Krimes. With his fourthplace and Fred Rahmer’s 22nd-place finish, Hodnett took the points lead at the track with three races remaining.

Jordan Givler won a career first 358 Sprint car feature at the Grove in a flag-toflag effort over Nathan Berwager, Chandler Leiby, Dale Hammaker and Kevin Nouse.

TJ Stutts won the URC/ESS-sanctioned Selinsgrove National Open for 358/360 Sprint cars Saturday night.

Stutts led all 35 laps in scoring the big $8,000 payday over Blane Heimbach, Brock Zearfoss, Aaron Ott and Mark Smith. Pat Cannon finished second but came up five pounds light in post race weigh-in and was disqualified.

Brian Montieth used a last-lap pass to score the win in Saturday’s Hank Gentzler Memorial for 410 sprints Saturday at Lincoln Speedway. His 40th career win came over Adam Wilt, Alan Krimes, Jim Siegel and Tim Glatfelter.

DJ Troutman won Friday’s Late Model portion of the Fallfest at Bedford Speedway with a final turn pass on Mike Altobelli for his first win of the season. Dylan Yoder, Andy Haus and Jeff Rine completed the top five.

Travis Mease won the Mike Zeigler Memorial for 358 Late Models Saturday at Trail-way Speedway over Jim Bernheisel, Jake Jones, Kyle Lear and Bobby Beard.

Return to top