2013-10-03 / Local & State

Township Convention Set For October 14


Officials representing townships of the second class in Fulton County will convene Monday, October 14, 2013, at McConnellsburg Volunteer Fire Co., for their 91st annual county convention.

The purpose of the annual convention is to provide township officials with up-to-date information to help them better serve their residents and to give them an opportunity to exchange ideas on local government issues.

The convention will feature a wide range of speakers, including James Wheeler, the director of Environmental Affairs for the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors. He has provided environmental policy research and implementation for member townships since 1991.

Wheeler serves on the state’s sewage advisory committee, small water systems technical advisory committee, low-level radioactive waste advisory committee, and the U.S. EPA Chesapeake Bay program’s local government advisory committee. He is a member of the PA Stormwater Technical workgroup and serves on several technical advisory groups for PennDot’s State Transportation Innovation


He is responsible for monitoring the activities of the state’s storage tank advisory committee, solid waste advisory committee, recycling fund advisory committee, water resources advisory committee, and the statewide water resources committee.

He also manages and provides training for the PSATS CDL Program, and oversees the Township Engineers Association, and Township Emergency Management Association, the Township Planning Association, and coordinates the PATS Annual Education Conference Trade Show.

He is a native of Tennessee and graduated from DePauw University in Greencastle, Ind.

The State Association of Township Supervisors represents Pennsylvania’s 1,455 townships of the second class, 11 of which are located in Fulton County.

Other speakers who will address the township officials include:

Sen. John Eichelberger, Fulton County commissioners, Fulton County Planning Commission, PA State Police, Ruth Strait, EMA, Fred Boylstein, PEMA and others.

Return to top