2013-09-19 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Two weeks after claiming his first career Hagerstown Speedway Late Model Sportsman track title, Justin Weaver came back to score his first career Small Car Nationals victory.

Weaver earned the $2,000 payday in his dominating win Saturday night as he took the checkered flag 13.38 seconds ahead of Rodney Walls for his third win of the year at the track.

Walls, Rick Hulson, Scott Palmer and Mike Walls were the top five.

Mike Corbin also picked up $2,000 for his pure stock win over Greg Diehl, Dave Keiser, Mike Franklin and Brian Lutrell.

Gary Proctor won the Hobby Stock Main, while Cody Kershner was the fourcylinder winner. Kershner donated $1,000 of his winnings to breast cancer awareness.

Pat Cannon raced to his third straight Jim Nace Memorial 410 Sprint Car National Open Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway. Cannon’s win was worth $13,990 and came over Fred Rahmer, Lance Dewease, Greg Hodnett and Stevie Smith.

Matt Cochran won his first Late Model Main at Selinsgrove over Coleby Frye, Jeff Rine, Chad Hollenbeck and Jim Yoder.

Aaron Ott led all 25 laps of Friday’s 410 Sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway for his first win since 2009 at the track. Steve Buckwalter, Greg Hodnett, Danny Dietrich and Chad Layton followed.

Kevin Nouse won the makeup 358 Sprint car feature over Austin Hogue, Chandler Leiby, Dale Hammaker and Derek Locke, while Mark Smith won the regular feature over Tyler Ross, Hogue, Brian Garland and Nathan Berwager.

Frankie Herr earned the big $4,770 payday in the Sportsman 100 feature win Saturday at Lincoln Speedway as he won for an unprecedented sixth win in the race. He defeated Chad Criswell, Scott Dellinger, Mike Enders and Gregg Foster.

Gene Knaub earned his 19th win of the year in Lincoln’s 358 Late Model feature over Kyle Lear, Cam Zeigler, Bobby Beard and Sam Gallagher.

Billy Wampler won his first 358 Late Model feature of the season Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway and in the process clinched his firstever track title by a scant two points. He defeated Chase Billet, Dan Zechman, Justin Ehrhart and Steve Billet for the feature win.

Harrisonville’s Logan Wagner was back to his winning ways in 305 Sprint car action as he scored the feature win after leading the final five laps of the 20-lap feature. Wagner also clinched his second- straight SSP track championship. He beat George Riden, Kody Lehman, Roger Irvine and Colby Dice, with Mark Watkins finishing sixth and Michael Wagner eighth.

Brad McClelland got win number six in Friday night 358 Sprint car action at Trail- Way Speedway over Isaac Sneeringer, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Cris Eash and Colby Womer.

Return to top