2013-09-19 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway Results

Many of the point championships have already been decided at Path Valley for 2013, but the 600cc Micro Sprint division was still up for grabs. When speedway management announced they would not be racing next Saturday that made this week’s race the final point-paying event for the Saturday night racers.

Jim Young started the night 18 points behind Steve Whary for the championship in the 600cc Micro Sprint division. Young started the night by winning his heat race, which moved him three points closer when Whary finished fourth in the second heat. Young’s luck took a change for the worse when he came to pull the invert pill, pulling an eight. That put Whary on the pole for the feature and Young starting eighth. Whary took full advantage, grabbing the lead at the drop of the green and leading all 20 laps to win the feature, and the seasonlong point championship. Young fought hard to the end, working his way up to second on Lap 12. But that is as far as he could get, settling for second in both the race and the championship. Young show-ed true sportsmanship afterwards, coming down to victory lane to congratulate Whary. Tyler Walton came to a stop on Lap 2, but was able to restart and make his way back up to third, leading Anthony Macri and Garrett Bard across the finish line.

The Central PA Legends made their final trip to Path Valley Speedway in 2013. Bob Stough is the regional point leader, and he added to his advantage with another feature win. Chris Transeau led the first two laps, and then Stough took control on Lap 3. Two late cautions kept the field close, but Stough stayed in control and was never seriously challenged for the lead. Bill Diehl finished in a solid second place. Jacob Feltch finished strong, making two passes the final four laps to capture third. Rick Miller held off Chris Spidle as they finished fourth and fifth.

Josh Stoyer proved to be the class act of the nine-car 270cc Micro Sprint field. Stoyer started first and led every lap of the heat race. Then he again started first in the feature and led all 20 laps to score the win. Levi Peck ran second to Stoyer in both the heat and feature. Third through fifth went to Tyler Reich, Ted Volz and Cory Thornton.

The Classic Racing Series was also making its final visit to Path Valley in 2013. They decided to make the last race a special event, making the race distance 40 laps instead of 20. Pete Neal has been the man to beat this year when the CRS comes to Path Valley, and this night was no different. Neal won the first heat race and Ryan Arnold the second, setting them as the front row starters for the feature. Neal took the lead at the drop of the green and quickly started to separate himself from the pack. As the neared the halfway point, Neal closed in on the back of the pack, which included six cars that were racing hard for position. With no clear lane, Neal was slowed, allowing Roland Brown and Matt Wallace to close in. On Lap 20 the fight for the lead became three wide, but as they came down the frontstretch there was contact between all three. Brown got the worst of it, receiving enough damage to force him out of the race. Wallace was slightly better off but lost his right rear coil spring in the mishap. When the green flag waved again Neal was still the leader and was able to pull away from the wounded machine of Wallace. Neal then had his own issues, showing some smoke coming from the engine bay with about 10 laps remaining. Neal never faltered down the stretch, claiming his fourth win of the year at Path Valley and drawing slightly closer to Wallace in the season-long series point championship. Wallace was able to limp home in second, followed by Arnold, Steve Cantwell and Charlie Summers. The CRS has four races remaining in 2013.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, September 20: Late Model, Street Stock, Super Stock, Mini Stock, 4- Cyl. Thunder Car, and Strictly Stock plus Powder Puff and Mechanics races for 4- cylinder divisions.

Return to top