2013-09-12 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Don Kreitz Jr. turned in a big run to capture Saturday’s 46th annual Tuscarora 50 at Port Royal Speedway.

Kreitz led the first 36 laps before giving way to 24th starter Brian Montieth. But Kreitz went back out front on Lap 40 and went onto score the big $13,200 payday ahead of Danny Dietrich, Montieth, Ryan Smith and Lance Dewease. Mike Wagner finished ninth.

Greg Hodnett won Friday night’s Night before the 50 at the Port over Brian Leppo, Danny Holtgraver, Tim Shaffer and Logan Schuchart. Wagner was 15th.

Dewease clinched the 2013 All- Star Circuit of Champions East Region point title Saturday night.

Dylan Yoder won Friday’s Late Model Main at the Port over Coleby Frye, Mike Lupfer, Matt Parks and Mitch Hack.

Cody Keller won Saturday’s 358 Sprint car main at Selinsgrove Speedway over Mark Smith, Duane Mausteller, Derek Locke and Jason Shultz, while Jeff Rine won his 85th career and sixth of the season in Selinsgrove Late Model action. Rine scored the win over Matt Cochran, Bryan Bernheisel, Dylan Yoder and Coleby Frye.

Chris Meleason captured his first career Super Sportsman feature win Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway despite having the motor in his car expire coming down for the checkered flag. He was able to defeat Jay Fannasy, Chad Criswell, Gregg Foster and Scott Dellinger. Frankie Herr won the 2013 Sportsman championship.

Gene Knaub won the Topless 30 for 358 Late Models at the Grove over Wes Alleman, Grant Adams, JR Rodriguez and Andy Anderson.

Austin Reed became a first-time 358 Sprint car winner at Lincoln Speedway with a win on Saturday over Jeff Rohrbaugh, Austin Hogue, Tyler Ross and Niki Young. With his fifth-place finish, Young won the 2013 Lincoln 358 Sprint title by 10 points over Rohrbaugh.

Eric Parker won the PA 305 Sprint car feature at Lincoln over Tyler Reeser, George Riden, Brick Bilger and Alex Schanz. Logan Wagner finished sixth and Mike Wagner II was ninth.

Shane Hoff was the Friday night 358 Sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway over Mike Bittinger, Cris Eash, Brad McClelland and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Gene Knaub won his 18th overall feature of the year Saturday with his 25-lap 358 Late Model win at Susquehanna Speedway Park. He defeated Randy Christine Jr., Billy Wampler, Justin Ehrhart and Matt Murphy.

Return to top