2013-09-12 / Local & State

Rasp Wins At Path Valley

The fourth running of the Wes Scofield Memorial took place Friday night at Path Valley Speedway. Sixteen 4- Cylinder Thunder Car drivers signed in for their chance at the $500 payday for the winner.

The Street Stock division got the features under way. Ken Singer took the lead from Joe Gustaf on Lap 2 and led the way the remaining 14 laps for the win. Emory Covert finished second and Gustaf in third. Gustaf won the heat race.

Jeremy Ott claimed his second win in as many weeks in the Mini Stock feature. Mark Grove led the first two laps until he got sideways exiting Turn 4 on Lap 3, losing several positions. Bill Kennedy took over the top spot and held the lead for three laps, until Ott drove past on Lap 6. Gary Dehart finished second, ahead of Jason Stoner, Kevin Thomas and Grove.

Sixteen Late Model drivers took the green flag with Dave Dunkle on the pole and leading Lap 1. George Dixon used the low groove to work past Dunkle on Lap 2. Dixon set the pace the final 24 laps to make a return visit to Path Valley’s victory lane. Andy Fries settled for second after battling with Eric Irvin, who finished third. Scott Richwine made a rare appearance parlay into a fourth-place finish, holding off Wes Bonebrake in the closing laps.

The 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature was the fourth running of the Wes Scofield Memorial. Justin Rasp started on the front row and led all 25 laps to score the $500 payout for the win. Nick Ruhl stayed close, but only once was able to pull beside Rasp, and crossed the finish line second. Terry Smith took third in only his second race this season. Dalton Mc- Quade finished fourth and Jeremy Moore fifth. Rasp, Shaun Linn and Ruhl won their heat races.

Devin Hart extended his point lead in the Super Stock division with another win. Hart started first and dueled with Curtis Guyer for the first half of the event. Hart moved from the low groove to the top and then pulled away in the closing laps. Derek Grabill kept Adam Imes behind him to claim the third spot and Brad Karns rounded out the top five.

Justin Williamson continued his domination of the Strictly Stock class, again winning the heat race and leading all 20 laps for his 12th win at Path Valley this year. Eric Boozel challenged Williamson in the early going, but was not able to match Williamson’s pace, falling back to nearly a straightaway behind at the finish. Third through fifth went to Sam Barge, Rusty Garlock and Travis Wilson.

Two of the six winners Saturday night at Path Valley are at opposite ends of their respective careers. One of them has won over 100 features and is now racing less to spend more time with his wife and young child. The other is only in his second season of racing, and isn’t even old enough to get his driver’s license.

The first ACMS Stock 600cc Micro Sprint feature was dominated by Wayne Dadetto. Dadetto started first and led all 15 laps to secure the win. Second through fifth went to Alyssa Rowe, Sean Garman, Henry Sparks and Lance Yeager.

In the second ACMS Stock 600cc Micro Sprint feature, Alyssa Rowe set the early pace while Wayne Dadetto tracked her down. Dadetto tried everything he could, and was alongside Rowe with just a few laps to go. But Rowe held her line, never faltered, and earned the win. Lance Yeager finished third, Sean Garman fourth, and Seth Garman fifth.

Polesitter Brandon Hawkins led the first lap of the 270cc Micro Sprint feature and Levi Peck took over on Lap 2. While Peck was showing the way, Sean McAndrew was charging to the front after starting eighth, moving into second on Lap 4. McAndrew slowly reeled in Peck and made the pass for the lead on Lap 9. Only one caution waved, closing the field back up on Lap 13. One lap after the restart Josh Stoyer drove past Peck and into second. McAndrew showed the speed he has used to win over 100 features and sever- al championships, pulling away from Stoyer to claim another win. Peck finished third, Hawkins fourth and Jason Houtz fifth.

Jonathan Hynes started first in the first of two Sidewinder features but lost the lead to Brandon Yarlett on the first lap. Yarlett led all the way with Hynes close behind. On the final lap Yarlett hesitated just a moment when he caught up to a slower car. Hynes saw his opportunity and went for it, diving inside Yarlett as they entered Turn 3. Hynes completed the pass and led Yarlett to the stripe by a car length to earn his first win since joining the Sidewinder Sprint series this year. .

In the second feature for the Sidewinders, point leader Rich Halter started first and was leading the way with Mike Zielonis in close pursuit. Halter led for eight laps before his chain came off, ending his night. Zielonis took over on the restart and drove away from the field for the win. Rohan Beasley held back Jonathan Hynes to finish second, while Brandon Yarlett finished fourth and Josh Chess fifth.

Fourteen-year-old Anthony Macri is in his second season of racing 600cc Micro Sprints. Unlike most other youngsters running Micro Sprints, Macri never raced anything else before this. Macri started second, took the lead from Hannah Riser on the start, and led the first four laps. The first of three cautions waved on Lap 5, and on the restart Steve Whary used the high groove to drive around Macri and into the lead. The caution came back out the very next lap and on that restart Whary’s chain came off just past the restart cone, ending his night. Macri regained the lead on the next restart and put some distance between himself and Riser in second. A few laps later Jim Young took over second and the hunt was on. As Macri worked through lapped traffic Young was able to close the gap, but Young ran out of laps, finishing two car lengths behind when the checkered flag waved. The win is Macri’s second of this year. Garrett Bard worked hard the second half of the race to get past Riser and was finally able to do so with just one lap remaining to finish third. Tyler Campbell finished fifth.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, September 13: Reg Classes plus 4 Cyl. Powder Puff & Mechanic races.

Saturday, September 14: Reg Classes plus Classic Vintage & Legend.

Return to top