2013-09-05 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway Results

Garrett Bard Garrett Bard Colby Dice celebrated his 18th birthday the way all race car drivers wish they could. Dice won his heat race, started second for the feature, and led all 20 laps to score his first win in 2013. Jerry Palm stayed close to Dice, until losing the second spot to Ryan McAndrew on a restart on Lap 13. In order, the top-five finishers were Dice, McAndrew, Palm, Brandon Hawkins and Adam Warner.

Paul Bacchus scored his third win of the year at Path Valley in the Penn-Mar Vintage Car feature. Bacchus started second and beat polesitter Rick Pastor into turn one for the early lead. Pastor had won the heat race, but appeared to be battling an ill-handling car until his right rear tire went flat on Lap 7. Larry Felty took over second after Pastor pitted with Scott Rickrode close behind. The top three stayed fairly close the remainder of the race, but there was no change of positions.

Tim Glacken captured his first win at Path Valley in the first feature for the ACMS Stock 600cc Micro Sprints. Glacken started third but was out front before the first lap was complete, and was leading by over half a lap when the nonstop event was done. Wayne Dadetto worked past Lance Yeager on the next-to-last lap to finish second.

The second feature for the Stock 600cc Micro Sprints saw Alyssa Rowe setting the pace for the first three laps. Wayne Dadetto took over on Lap 4 and led the final 12 laps for the win. Sean Garman finished second and Devin Garman third. Only three of the nine starters were able to finish.

Chris Spidle charged early in the Legend Car feature and then held off Lucas Montgomery at the end to register his first career feature win. Spidle started sixth, was up to second on Lap 2, and took the lead from Joe Ehrisman on Lap 4. There were three cautions and one red flag in the first seven laps. Both Scott Spidle and Keith Wharing experienced fires in the engine compartment, but neither driver was injured. Lucas Montgomery took over second on Lap 8, but was not able to gain much ground on the leader. As Spidle entered the final two turns he caught the back of the field, but Montgomery could only get to Spidle’s back bumper, and finished a car length behind. Jacob Feltch finished third with Ehrisman fourth and Chris Transeau fifth.

The 600cc Micro Sprint feature was the last event of the evening and Garrett Bard drove like he was ready to leave. Bard won his heat race, started on the pole of the feature, and handily led all 20 laps for his third win at Path Valley this year. Second through fifth was a good four car battle for most of the event. J.D. Harman ran second from the drop of the green flag. Steve Whary took third from David Holbrook on Lap 8 and moved past Harman for second on Lap 14. Jim Young also got by Holbrook or the fourth spot. At the checkered flag second through fifth were Whary, Harman, Young, and Holbrook.

Last week’s racing saw three drivers with winning streaks. This week two of those streaks came to an end.

Twelve drivers signed in to run the final race before the Wes Scofield Memorial for 4-Cylinder Thunder Cars next week. Nick Ruhl and Dalton McQuade showed speed early, winning the two heat events. But when it came to the feature it was all Justin Rasp. Rasp started second, took the lead at the drop of the green, and led all 20 laps for the win. Ruhl kept Rasp honest, staying close and even pulling alongside near the midway point. Ruhl could not complete the pass, dropping back into second, where he finished. Third through fifth went to Troy Showalter, Dalton McQuade and Robert McQuade.

Steve Lowery entered the evening winner of the last five Street Stock features. Mike Desch had other plans this week, and used the recipe Lowery had used for most of his wins. Desch won the heat race, started on the pole for the feature, and led every lap to score his first win at Path Valley Speedway. Lowery tried hard to keep the streak alive, running down Desch from nearly a full straightaway behind. But Desch made no mistakes and Lowery could not find a way around, settling for second. Joe Gustaf and Ken Singer battled most of the 20 laps for third, with Gustaf getting the spot at the end. Bob Vogt rounded out the top five.

Gary Dehart’s hopes for winning his fourth-straight Mini Stock feature left just as quickly as the air from his left rear tire. Leroy Long set the pace until Dehart took the lead on Lap 5. A few laps later Jeremy Ott moved into second and a caution on Lap 11 closed up the field. On the restart Ott and Dehart made slight contact entering Turn 1 and the result was a flat left rear tire for Dehart. Ott took over the top spot and was not seriously challenged the remaining laps, taking the checkered flag first. Mark Grove put on a strong second-half charge to finish second. Long held on for third, Bill Kennedy was fourth and Dehart returned to finish fifth.

In the Super stock division Bill Powell saw his winning streak come to an end last week. This week he will try to start a new one. Powell started second, took the lead from polesitter Curtis Guyer at the start, and powered away from the field, leading all 20 laps for the win. Guyer was able to run second the whole event, finishing ahead of Austin Johnson, Derek Grabill and Curt Dunn.

Justin Williamson won the heat race and led all 20 laps to win the Strictly Stock feature. The win is Williamson’s 11th of the year at Path Valley. Ricky Weaver finished second, Charlie Stallman third, Scott Rohr in fourth and Barry Snyder fifth.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, September 6: Wes Scofield Memorial for 4-Cyl. Thunder Cars ($500 to win) plus Late Models, Mini Stocks, Street Stocks, Super Stocks and Strictly Stocks

Driver Autograph & Fan Appreciation Night: $5 admission – kids free.

Saturday, September 7: 270cc & 600cc Micro Sprints, Sidewinders, and Stock 600cc Micro Sprints.

Driver Autograph & Fan Appreciation Night: $5 admission – kids free.

Return to top