2013-08-29 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Lucas Wolfe started on the pole and scored the Friday night 410 Sprint car feature win at Williams Grove Speedway. The win came in a second Mike Heffnerowned car and was the first local win for Heffner in 2013. Wolfe defeated Cory Haas, Ryan Taylor, Logan Schuchart and Jim Siegel.

Mark Smith won the URC 360/ 358 Sprint Challenge at the Grove over JJ Grasso, Pat Cannon, Josh Weller and Randy West.

Fred Rahmer returned to victory lane for his 169th career win Saturday at Lincoln Speedway. The win was Rahmer’s first since early June and came over Brian Montieth, Danny Dietrich, Greg Hodnett and Brent Marks.

Chad Layton raced to his fourth 410 Sprint car win Saturday at Port Royal after another front-row starting spot. Layton took the win over Dylan Cisney, Blane Heimbach, Lance Dewease and Mike Erdley.

Randy West won the URC feature at Port over Josh Weller, Aaron Ott, Chad Trout and JJ Grasso, while Eric Parker scored the 350 Sprint car win at Port Royal over Kody Lehman, Michael Wagner, Jason Bergstresser and Logan Wagner, who started 25th.

Billy Farmer became another first-time winner in Hagerstown Speedway Late Model Sportsman action Saturday night. Farmer led all 25 laps for the win over Scott Palmer, 2013 track champion Justin Weaver, Kyle Lee and Ronnie Dennis. Frankie Plessinger finished ninth.

Kevin Boyer was the Pure Stock winner over Chris Ebersole, Dave Stouffer Jr., Darrin Younker and Mike Warrenfeltz, while Gary Proctor scored the Hobby Stock feature win along with the track title and Cody Kershner won the four-cylinders. All four drivers earned guaranteed starting spots in next months Small Car Nationals.

Steve Wilbur won his first Super Sportsman feature Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway over Rich Eichelberger, Doug Dodson, Scott Geesey and Bobby Hockenberry, while Gene Knauh scored overall win number 15 on the year with the 358 Late Model win over Zach Kauffman, Grant Adams, 2013 track champion Wes Alleman and Larry Baer.

Brad McClelland scored career win number 32 in Friday night 358 Sprint car action at Trail-Way Speedway with his latest win over Cris Eash, Austin Hogue, Tim Wagaman and Zach Euculano.

Knaub also won the Friday night 358 Late Model feature at Trail-Way over Dominic Defino, JR Rodriguez, Grant Adams and Travis Mease.

Wayne Johnson scored his first Late Model win of the year Friday at Bedford Speedway over Matt Parks, Jason Covert, Chuck Clise and Mike Altobelli Jr.

Dale Hollidge pulled off the big upset Saturday night at Winchester Speedway as he set back the World of Outlaws Late Models in the big win that saw four local drivers finish in the top four spots. Hollidge won over Jeremy Miller, DJ Myers, Kenny Pettyjohn and WoO points leader Josh Richards. Tyler Hershey had a ninthplace finish.

Jason Shultz won for the fourth time this season in Selinsgrove Speedway 358 Sprint car action over Pat Cannon, TJ Stutts, Mike Walter and Matt Horst, while Dylan Yoder led flag to flag to score his third Selinsgrove Late Model win of the year over Jim Bernheisel, Bryan Bernheisel, Coleby Frye and Chad Hollenbeck.

Don Kreitz Jr., scored the 410 Sprint car win Sunday night at Susquehanna Speedway Park over Danny Dietrich, Greg Hodnett, Aaron Ott and Mark Smith, while Randy Christine, Jr. was the 358 Late Model winner.

Return to top