2013-08-22 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

It was a big weekend for Logan Schuchart as he scored wins Friday and Saturday night in 410 Sprint car action.

Schuchart and his grandpa, Bobby Allen, have traveled the country all season, and the experience is paying off as he won the second of the Twin 20s Friday at Williams Grove and then won his first career Port Royal Speedway feature Saturday night in the Keith Kauffman Farewell Tribute race.

Pat Cannon won the first Twin 20 at Williams Grove on Friday night over Don Kreitz, Lance Dewease, Schuchart and Brian Leppo, while Schuchart came back to use a last lap, last turn pass to take the second 20- lap feature win over Leppo, Greg Hodnett, Dewease and Kreitz.

Schuchart came back strong Saturday at the Port where he passed leader Chad Layton on Lap 26 and drove off to capture the big $5,000 payday on a night to honor the best ever at the Port and one of the best ever to drive a Sprint car. Kauffman will be retiring from racing following the upcoming Tuscarora 50.

Layton finished second over Brent Marks, Dewease and Blane Heimbach. Mike Wagner had problems during his time trial lap that set the tone for his night, finishing 12th in the feature.

Terry Naugle claimed the Late Model portion on Kauffman Tribute night, which was also his first career win as he defeated Mike Lupfer, Coleby Frye, Lindsay Barton and Matt Parks. Marvin Winters placed 18th.

Pat Cannon won for the eighth time in Selinsgrove Speedway 358 Sprint car action Saturday night over Scott Wilson, Mark Smith, Josh Beard and Jason Shultz, while Jeff Rine returned to victory lane in the Late Model feature over Bryan Bernheisel, Chris Shuey, Matt Cochran and Jim Bernheisel.

Adam Wilt won his third career 410 Sprint car feature Saturday at Lincoln Speedway over Cory Haas, Danny Dietrich, Fred Rahmer and Brian Montieth, while Austin Hogue won his fourth 358 Sprint Car Main of the year at Lincoln over Niki Young, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Chase Dietz and Tyler Ross.

Jeff Rohrbaugh was the 358 Sprint car winner Friday at Trail-Way Speedway over Cris Eash, Austin Hogue, Seth Kerchner and Jeffrey Halligan.

Chad Myers recorded a career first Late Model Sportsman feature win Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway after leading the final 10 laps to pick up the win over Andy Anderson, Justin Weaver, Billy Farmer and James Lichlter. Frankie Plessinger finished 10th.

Darrin Younker won the Cornett Tribute race for Pure Stocks over Brian Miller, Drew Fitzsimmons, Wayne Hawbaker and Nick Dibella. Tom Caravello won the Hobby Stock feature over Gary Proctor and Joe Rodgers.

Chad Criswell made it four wins of the year with his Super Sportsman win Saturday at Wiliams Grove Speedway over Duaine Smith, Dave Berkheimer, Rick Barr and Scott Dellinger.

Gene Knaub picked up overall win number 13 on the year with his second 358 Late Model win at the Grove over Travis Mease, Wes Alleman, Grant Adams and Chad Julius.

Randy Christine Jr. was the 358 Late Model winner at Susquehanna Speedway Saturday over Chase Billet, Justin Ehrhart, Ron Coleman and Chris Knopp.

Derrick Bowersox led all 20 laps to win the PASS 305 Sprint Car Main over Mark Watkins, Logan Wagner, Scott Ellerman and Ryan Lynn. Michael Wagner was eighth.

Bedford Speedway presented the Coffee Classic for 410 Sprints on Sunday when it was Harrisonville’s Mike Wagner scoring the feature win and the $3,500 payday. Wagner defeated Jack Sodeman, Logan Schuchart, Greg Hodnett and Lance Dewease.

Return to top