2013-08-22 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway Results

Justin Rasp, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner. Justin Rasp, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner. The 600cc Micro Sprint feature got things under way with a bang, literally. As the field entered Turn1 for the first time, several cars got crossed up, resulting in a multi-car incident that involved at least eight of the 20-car field. Three cars rolled over and the worse was Kameron Morral. Morral’s car flew through the air and came to a sudden stop on its side on top of the guardrail beside the track exit. Morral climbed from the car unharmed, and all of the other involved drivers said they were OK.

When the race resumed, polesitter Jim Young darted into the lead. Tyler Walton ran in second, closing the gap once they started working through lapped traffic. Two more cautions and a red flag for Timmie Barrick and Ben Houtz flipping kept the field close but cleared away the slower traffic ahead of the race leaders. Young kept Walton at bay to claim the win and the trophy on Juniata Beverage Night. Walton was followed across the line by Shane Lewis, Steve Whary and Cale Reigle. Heat race wins went to Walton, Lewis and Whary.

Pete Neal followed Jim Young’s lead, starting first in the Classic Racing Series feature and leading all 20 laps for the win. Neal dominated the event, leading by over half of a lap at the finish. Neal has three wins in 2013, and all three have come at Path Valley. The win also closes up the championship battle as Neal entered the evening in second, 95 points behind Matt Wallace. Second through fifth was a close race the whole way, with Ron Grove prevailing over Steve Cantwell, Charlie Summers and Matt Wallace. Neal and Grove claimed heat race checkers.

The 270cc Micro Sprint feature had an unusually small field, with only nine drivers signed in and only seven able to take the green flag. Cory Myers started second and took the early lead. Myers set the pace until Jerry Palm used the high groove to slingshot around Myers on Lap 5. Palm’s lead was short lived due to engine failure on Lap 10. Ryan McAndrew inherited the lead on the Lap 10 restart and led the last 11 laps for the win. Cory Myers held on to second, followed by Brandon Hawkins, Don Roush and Eric Forsythe. Forsythe was the heat race winner.

The Sidewinder Sprints run twin 15-lap features. In the first event Tim Townsend took the lead from Zach Overmiller on Lap 2 and drove away to finish first. But, Townsend failed post race inspection, giving the win to Josh Chess. The win is Chess’s first since joining the Sidewinder division. Second through fifth went to Rich Halter, Rohan Beasley, Mike Zielonis and Overmiller.

Rohan Beasley started first in the second event and led all 15 laps for his first win in 2013. Beasley described the win as “getting the gorilla off my back” as he has suffered through a disappoint- ing season so far. Brandon Yarlett finished second, just ahead of a hard- charging Mike Zielonis. Josh Chess and Rich Halter finished fourth and fifth.

There were three drivers that made their first trip to Path Valley’s victory lane on Friday night, two for the first time ever and one the first time this year.

The Street Stock feature was the first of the night. Steve Lowery extended his winning streak to four in a row by leading all 20 laps for the win. Rich Earhart finished second, with Emory Covert in third. Ronnie Garlock was credited for fourth and Ken Singer fifth. Lowery also won the heat race.

Justin Rasp returned to 4-Cylinder Thunder Car action for the first time since June 28 and showed no bad signs from the time off. Rasp was sent to the rear of the eight-car field for contact on the initial start, but then only took eight laps to rocket his way to the lead, driving around Dalton McQuade for the top spot. After that he was never contested, leading the final 13 laps for the win. Second through fifth went to Tony Hampton, Mike Fuller, Dalton Mc- Quade and Kyle Martin. The heat race win went to Rasp.

Todd Snook made his first visit to Path Valley in his Late Model and the trip paid off. Steve Bailor led the first five laps, but slipped high in Turn 4 on a restart, and Snook drove by on the inside. Going into Turn 1 Bailor got extremely sideways again and George Dixon had nowhere to go and the two got hooked together. Snook took over the point on the ensuing restart and never faltered, keeping Wes Bonebrake a few car lengths behind to claim his first win at Path Valley. Tim Smith followed Bonebrake to finish third, while Dixon and Bailor recovered to finish fourth and fifth.

The Mini Stock feature was a classic battle between Gary Dehart and Jeremy Ott. Dehart led from the drop of the green flag, and Jeremy Ott reeled him in from nearly a full straightaway behind near the halfway mark. Ott got beside Dehart down the frontstretch, but the caution came out, negating the attempted pass. After that Ott could never get closer than Dehart’s back bumper, giving Dehart the flag-to-flag win, his second in a row. Shane Sixeas was close behind, finishing third. Chris Anderson finished fourth but was disqualified in post race inspection, giving fourth to Tom White and fifth to Bill Kennedy.

In the Super Stock division Derek Grabill ended two years of struggle by claiming his first win at Path Valley. Grabill, driving a 1967 Barracuda, started first and led every lap, holding off challenges by Austin Johnson the second half of the race. Bill Powell worked past Devin Hart in the closing laps to finish third and Curtis Guyer rounded out the top five.

Charlie Stallman led all 15 laps of the Strictly Stock feature for the win. Second went to Andrew Moist and Jarred Rudy third.

Coming up next weekend:

Friday, August 23: Late Model, Street Stock, Super Stock, Mini Stock, 4-Cyl. Thunder Car, Strictly Stock.

Saturday, August 24: AMA FlatTrack Motorcycles.

Return to top