2013-08-15 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Mark Pettyjohn has enjoyed a career season on the local Late Model circuit and it got even better Saturday night after he captured his first career Late Model win at Hagerstown Speedway.

Pettyjohn led all 35 laps to win the Shorty Bowers Bull Durham Championship/Johnny Roberts Memorial Three State Flyers sanctioned event and also set a new track record in the non-stop event with a time of 12 minutes, 31 seconds.

Rick Eckert was second over Austin Hubbard, Jason Covert and David Williams. Tyler Hershey finished in the sixth spot, with Marvin Winters 10th and Frankie Plessinger 15th.

Kevin Boyer was declared the Pure Stock winner after Brian Miller was disqualified in post race inspection. Boyer scored the win over Dave Stouffer Jr. and Mike Warrenfeltz, while Richard Gwizdale won the 4-cylinder main over Frankie Gordon and Jeremy Ott.

Blane Heimbach won his fourth 410 Sprint car feature Saturday at Port Royal Speedway over Keith Kauffman, Dylan Cisney, Mike Wagner and Chad Layton.

Logan Wagner battled hard with Alex Schanz for the first 10 laps of the 305 Sprint car feature before driving off to his fifth career Port Royal win and ninth overall on the season in his No. 7W. His nine wins make him the first driver in series history to win that many features in one season, and he is also the all-time leading 305 winner at the Port. Schanz, Scott Ellerman, Kody Lehman and Mark Watkins were the top five. Michael Wagner finished sixth.

Coleby Frye won the Late Model main at the Port over Terry Naugle, Matt Parks, Mitch Hack and Brett Schadel.

JJ Grasso won an emotional Saturday night tribute to Kramer Williamson at Selinsgrove Speedwayw. Grasso won the URC Sprint car main at the track driving a KramerKraft chassis built by Williamson himself. Grasso was joined by Kramer’s family in victory lane. He beat Mark Smith, Randy West, Chad Trout and Davie Franek.

Pat Cannon won the 358 Sprint Car Main at Selinsgrove over Ryan Kissinger, Derek Locke, Jason Shultz and Josh Beard, while Bryan Bernheisel won his first Late Model feature at the track over Jeff Rine, Jim Yoder, Dave Zona and Matt Cochran.

Russ Mitten won the Super Sportsman feature Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway over Carmen Perigo Jr., Scott Dellinger, Frankie Herr and Mike Enders, while Larry Baer won the 358 Late Model main over Jake Jones, Wes Alleman, Grant Adams and Cam Zeigler.

Brian Montieth picked up the big paycheck in his win at the Brandon Little Memorial Fallen Firefighters night at Lincoln Speedway. Montieth’s fifth win came over Fred Rahmer, Alan Krimes, Jim Siegel and Cory Haas.

Kevin Nouse was the 358 Sprint car winner at Lincoln over Jeff Rohrbaugh, Nathan Berwager, Niki Young and Chase Dietz.

Tim Wagaman picked up the Friday night 358 Sprint car win at Trail-Way Speedway over Austin Hogue, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Dwight Leppo and Zach Eucalano.

Chase Billet won Saturday’s 358 Late Model feature at Susquehanna Speedway over Kyle Martin, Randy Christine Jr., Dan Zechman and Billy Waampler.

Bo Feathers was the Saturday night Late Model winner at Winchester Speedway over Dale Hollidge, Kenny Moreland, Kyle Hardy and Trever Feathers, while Rodney Walls won the Limited Late Models over Andy Anderson.

Donny Schatz made history in Saturday’s 53rd annual Knoxville Nationals as he drove from the 21st starting spot to score the big $150,000 win for his seventh win in the last eight years. It was the deepest anyone has ever started and won the event. He defeated Brian Brown, Justin Henderson, Paul McMahan and Chad Kememah. Greg Hodnett was the only PA Posse to make the A-Main, finishing 12th.

Return to top