2013-08-08 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Ryan Taylor led all but one lap of Saturday night’s Living Legends Dream Race at Port Royal Speedway to capture his biggest career win.

Taylor’s fifth career Port Royal win was worth more than $11,500 in one of the biggest events of the season at the track as he scored the win over Chad Layton, Fred Rahmer, Brian Leppo and Blane Heimbach. Harrionsville’s Mike Wagner earned the Hard Charger for his 19th-to-eighth-place run while his son, Logan, was voted Fans Choice for the race, getting the provisional starting spot. Logan started 25th and raced his way to 14th before being caught up in a crash, ending his run.

Gene Knaub won his fourth straight Steel Block Bandits feature Saturday night with his latest triumph coming in the Richard Boney Bonebrake Tribute at Hagerstown Speedway.

Knaub used a late-race pass to steal the lead and win over Andy Anderson, Paul Cursey, Justin Weaver and Joe Leavell.

Kenny Dillon was the Pure Stock winner over Darrin Younker, Drew Fitsimmons, Charlie Pensinger and Kevin Boyer, while Jason Sarver won the Hobby Stocks over Justin Hansberger and Tom Caravello.

Greg Hodnett took the lead on the final lap of Friday’s 410 Sprint car main at Williams Grove speedway to pick up his seventh win of the year over Fred Rahmer, Adam Wilt, Cory Haas and Brian Leppo.

Mark Smith came out on top of the URC Rislone Nationals at the Grove over Pat Cannon, Ryan Bohlke, JJ Grasso and Kevin Nouse.

Chad Trout captured a career first URC Sprint car win Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway over Andy Best, Gerard McIntyre, Billy Pauch Jr. and Niki Young.

Pat Cannon raced to a sixth 358 Sprint car win Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway over Larry Kelleher, Cody Keller, Derek Locke and Ryan Kissinger, while Coleby Frye picked up the $2,000 top prize for his Late Model championship win over Jim Yoder, Dylan Yoder, Jim Bernheisel and Tim Wilson.

Scott Geesey won for the third time in Super Sportsman action Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway over Chris Meleason, Mike Enders, Scott Dellinger and Paul Miller, while Jake Jones picked up the 358 Late Model feature win over Wes Alleman, Cam Zeigler, Matt Adams and Dave Latsha.

Jeff Rohrbaugh raced to his third 358 Sprint car win Friday at Trail-Way Speedway over Brad McClelland, Tim Wagaman, Austin Hogue and Cris Eash.

Chris Knopp came out on top of the 358 Late Model feature Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park over Justin Ehrhart, Billy Wampler, Chase Billet and Matt Murphy.

Robby Black won for the fifth time this season in Limited Late Model action Friday at Bedford Speedway as he scored the win over Travis Calhoun, Curtis Heath, George Dixon and Ron Bottenfield.

Greg Hodnett also won the Thunder on the Hill 410 Sprint Car Main last Tuesday at Grandview Speedway over James McFadden, JJ Grasso, Alan Krimes and Fred Rahmer.

And we end this week with some very sad news on the passing of Hall of Fame Sprint car driver Kramer Williamson. Kramer was involved in a hard crash Saturday at Lincoln Speedway and succumbed to those injuries Sunday afternoon. Kramer was inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame five years ago, and he won just about everything there was to win in Sprint car racing. He was a Williams Grove Speedway champion; he won the Williams Grove National Open; he beat the World of Outlaws and most recently was a regular competitior with URC, where he won three titles and 67 career wins. His last win came back on April 30, 2011, at Delaware International Speedway. Kramer will be greatly missed by the racing community.

Return to top