2013-07-11 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

After Greg Hodnett won the Speedweek opener a week ago at Williams Grove followed by Alan Krimes’ Saturday win at Lincoln Speedway and then Sam Hafertepe’s Big Diamond Raceway win last Sunday, Speedweek was rained out Tuesday at Grandview Speedway.

Action picked up Wednesday at the Hagers- town Speedway where fans were treated to a thrilling race until a late race caution ended a tight four-car battle for the lead in which NASCAR driver Dave Blaney captured his first career PA Speedweek win over Danny Lasoski, Lance Dewease, Greg Hodnett and Fred Rahmer. Harrisonville’s Mike Wagner set quick time over the 30-car field and finished seventh in the feature.

Speedweek returned to Lincoln Speedway for Thursday night’s Kevin Gobrecht Memorial where longtime Gobrecht friend Stevie Smith scored the win in exciting fashion, coming on late to take the lead on Lap 29. Smith held off Brent Marks, Alan Krimes, Hafertepe and Danny Dietrich.

Williams Grove Speedway came back with its second Speedweek race of the series with the running of the Mitch Smith Memorial on Friday where it was Danny Dietrich becoming the sixth winner in as many races for the week with the big $10,000 payday over Don Kreitz, Greg Hodnett, Brent Marks and Logan Schuchart. Wagner made his second-straight Grove start but failed to transfer into the feature event.

Speedweek moved to Port Royal Speedway Saturday night where track point leader Blane Heimbach took the lead on Lap 29 to score the feature win over Doug Esh, Stevie Smith, Mike Erdley and Greg Hodnett. Mike Wagner finished 14th.

The PA Speedweek finale at Selinsgrove Speedway was rained out Sunday night, so Greg Hodnett is the 2013 PA Sprint Speedweek champion for a fourth time in his career. Hodnett ended the week with 887 points compared to Fred Rahmer (872), Stevie Smith (863), Sam Hafertepe Jr. ( 860) and Lance Dewease (822).

Harrisonville’s Logan Wagner scored his seventh win of the year in PASS 305 Sprint car action Wednesday night at Susquehanna Speedway Park. Wagner took the lead on the 18th lap to score the win over Scott Ellerman, Kody Lehman, Mike Wagner II and Mark Watkins.

Brad McClelland won for the third time in TrailWay Speedway 358 Sprint car action Friday, taking the win over Jeff Rohrbaugh, Tim Wagaman, Austin Hogue and Isaac Sneeringer.

Gene Knaub was the 358 Late Model feature winner at Trailway over Grant Adams, Cam Zeigler, Travis Mease and Randy Stoudt.

Nick Dickson won a career second Late Model feature at Port Royal Speedway Saturday over Mike Lupfer, Terry Naugle, Derek Byler and Andy Haus.

Jason Shultz picked up the $2,000 win in Saturday’s Firecracker 30 for 358 Sprints at Selinsgrove Speedway as he won over Pat Cannon, TJ Stutts, Kevin Nouse and Larry Kelleher.

Jim Bernheisel set back Jeff Rine, Steve Campbell, Bryan Bernheisel and Dylan Yoder to win the 25-lap Late Model Main at Selinsgrove.

Ryan Wilson picked up his second 358 Sprint car win of the season Saturday at Lincoln Speedway over Tyler Ross, Chase Dietz, Niki Young and Jay Galloway.

With a huge field of 51 305 Sprints signed in at Lincoln, PASS series regular Kody Lehman took the win over Logan Wagner, who started eighth, Rick Stief, Lance Newlin and Eric Parker. Mike Wagner II was 11th and Mark Watkins 14th.

Scott Dellinger won Saturday’s Firecracker 40 for Super Sportsman at Williams Grove Speedway over Russ Mitten, Frankie Herr, Scott Geesey and Rich Eichelberger, while Randy Stoudt was the Grove’s 358 Late Model winner over Gene Knaub, Randy Croop, Tyler Armstrong and Grant Adams.

Bedford Speedway had its Milt Miller Three State Flyers event rained out Friday and again Sunday. The track is looking at rescheduling the event.

Return to top