2013-06-27 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway Results

When Kevin Thomas raced at Path Valley on a weekly basis he was a regular visitor to victory lane. On Friday night Thomas returned to Path Valley Speedway and also to victory lane.

The 4-Cylinder Thunder Cars were the first feature of the night. Tony Hampton started first and was able to stretch out a comfortable lead in the early going. Justin Rasp had to work his way up to second and then slowly began to chase down Hampton. Rasp caught up to Hampton at the halfway point and began looking for his way around the leader. Hampton was able to use the momentum of the high groove to hold the lead until his right rear tire started to lose pressure, making his car very loose. Rasp drove by on the inside, taking the lead on Lap 17 and holding it the rest of the way for the win. Dalton McQuade was also able to get by Hampton just before the finish line to take second. Hampton finished third, ahead of Troy Showalter and Mike Fuller. Rasp was also the heat race winner .

Ken Singer has been the dominant driver in Street Stocks this season. But on Friday night he made one error while leading and it cost him the race. Singer got just a bit too far sideways while going thru Turn 4 on Lap 8, and he had to get off the gas and go across the apron to get headed in the right direction. While that was happening Josh Gustaf and Wayne Hawbaker both went by. Singer was able to get back past Hawbaker for second, but Gustaf made no mistakes the final eight laps and claimed his first career victory in seven years of racing. Singer and Hawbaker finished second and third. The heat race win went to Singer.

Kevin Thomas has been struggling in 2013, unable to finish over half the races he has entered. His racing luck changed Friday night. The inversion put him on the pole position for the start and he took full advantage, leading all 20 laps for his first win this year. Gary Newell also returned to Path Valley and drove to a solid secondplace finish. Korey Washinger rebounded from an early incident and made his way back to third place, finishing ahead of Bill Kennedy and Kenny Hill. Kurt Knepper showed vast improvement with a dominating win in the heat race, but got caught up in a wreck on the initial start of the feature.

Terry Norris led the way the first 13 laps of the Super Stock feature, but as the race wore on, Norris’ car showed signs of overheating and his pace slowed. Meanwhile Adam Imes had worked his way from fifth to second and used an inside move to blast past Norris and into the lead on Lap 14. Imes pulled away over the last seven laps, leading by nearly a full straightaway when the checkers fell. Norris held on for second, ahead of Curtis Guyer, Carl Miller and Amber Mills. Miller claimed the heat race win.

Brothers Chris Anderson and Justin Williamson have been taking turns at the front of the Strictly Stock field, winning all but one of the features this year. Friday night they both ran and finished one-two, with Anderson leading all 20 laps for the win. Williamson finished a close second, followed by Andrew Moist, Jarred Rudy and Adam Morgan.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, June 28: Street Stock, Super Stock, Mini Stock, 4- Cyl. Thunder, Strictly Stock, and Late Model plus a Kid’s Candy Scramble.

Saturday, June 29:: 270cc & 600cc Micro Sprint, Penn- Mar Vintage and a Small Car Demo Derby plus a Kid’s Candy Scramble

Six different classes and seven feature events led to exciting racing action from start to finish Saturday night at Path Valley Speedway.

The 600cc Micro Sprint feature was the first on the program. Garrett Bard started on the pole and set the early pace. Just at the last of three cautions waved Bard’s front wing mounts came loose and the wing flipped backwards. Bard went to the pits for repairs handing the lead over to Steve Whary. Whary took control from that point on and led the remaining laps to claim his second win this year. Timmie Barrick continues to put together top five finishes as he came home second. Zach Light finished third, but he and two other racers were disqualified for a technical infraction in post-race inspection. Third thru fifth went to Jim Young, Hannah Riser, and J.D. Harman. The heats were won by Whary, Bard, and Barrick.

Paul Bacchus led all 12 laps of the Penn-Mar Vintage Car Club race, beating Stew Wenrich and Fred Thompson. Bacchus also won the heat race.

In the first of two 15 lap features for the ACMS Stock 600cc Micro Sprint features, Scott Garman led start-tofinish for the win. Buddy Hines finished second, Devin Garman third, and Lance Yeager fourth.

Buddy Hines led the way for the first four laps in the second feature, until Lance Yeager went by on Lap 5 Yeager pulled away for a convincing victory, keeping his string of winning at least one of the two features each time the series has been to Path Valley. Hines again came home second, ahead of Scott Garman, Devin Garman, and Alyssa Rowe.

The last time the Legends raced at Path Valley Lucas Montgomery took the lead from Bob Stough in the final 10 feet of the race. Saturday night Montgomery did just the opposite, charging into the lead on the first lap and leading all 20 laps for his third win in a row at Path Valley. Stough was literally on Montgomery’s back bumper for much of the race, but could not find the way around and settled for second. Bill Diehl finished third, Chris Spidle fourth, and Jacob Feltch used a second half charge to finish fifth. Stough, Montgomery and Rick Miller were the heat race winners.

When Mark Watkins lined up on the pole position and grabbed the early lead of the PASS 305 Sprint feature it appeared he would be tough to catch. But with most of the field fighting for the bottom groove, Steve Kenawell went to the top and found the traction he was looking for. Kenawell quickly reeled in Watkins and powered by on the outside exiting Turn 2. A few late cautions kept the field close, but Kenawell held firm to earn his first win this year. Watkins held on to second, just in front of a hardcharging Scott Ellerman. Logan Wagner finished fourth and Eric Parker fifth. Heat race wins went to Watkins and Lance Newlin.

Josh Stoyer’s night started on a sour note, ending up on his side during warm-ups after contact with another racer. Fortunately for him the top wing was the only serious damage. The inversion for the start of the 270cc Micro Sprint feature put Stoyer on the pole and he took full advantage. Stoyer led all 20 laps for the win, admitting in victory lane that the four cautions fell just right for him as his car was not handling as well as he wanted. Ryan McAndrew ran second the entire distance, losing a few car lengths on each restart and seeing the caution come back out each time he closed back in on the leader. Third through fifth went to Colby Dice, Greg Robinson and Levi Peck. Daryl Beakler and McAndrew claimed heat race victories.

Return to top