2013-06-20 / Sports

Racing Roundup

The All-Star Circuit of Champions invaded central PA over the weekend and as usual were shown the fast way around both Williams Grove and Lincoln speedways.

Danny Dietrich was on a mission Friday night at Williams Grove where he became the first repeat winner at the track and dedicated his win to the late Jason Leffler.

Leffler, a NASCAR racer who was racing 410 Sprints on a near full-time basis this season and spent many weekends racing locally for car owner Tom Buch, was fatally injured in a Sprint car crash at Bridgeport Speedway a week ago.

Dietrich’s win came over Lance Dewease, Tim Shaffer, Dale Blaney and Brent Marks.

Saturday at Lincoln Speedway, Alan Krimes ran away from the field to capture his first-ever All-Star win and third win of the year over Dietrich, Stevie Smith, Dewease and Fred Rahmer.

Niki Young won Lincoln’s 358 Sprint car race over Chris Arnold, Matt Findley, Chase Dietz and Matt Mountz.

Young hometown racer Dylan Cisney captured his first-ever 410 Sprint car feature win Saturday at Port Royal Speedway over Doug Esh, Chad Layton, Blane Heimbach and Joey Hershey with Mike Wagner seventh.

Matt Parks won his third Late Model Main at the track over Eric Zembower, Steve Axtell Jr., Chris Casner and Brett Schadel.

Jeff Miller Jr. out-dueled Logan Wagner to win the PASS 305 Sprint car feature at the Port, with Wagner, Scott Ellerman, Jason Bergstresser and Anthony Fiore the top five. Mark Watkins was 16th. Michael Wagner had a hard crash early in the night and did not start the feature.

It’s been all Andy Anderson in Hagerstown Speedway Late Model Sportsman action this season and Saturday night was no different as Anderson raced to his fifth win of the year on Breast Cancer Awareness night at the track.

Anderson has been even more impressive as his last three wins have came from the 12th starting spot. He won this week over Justin Weaver, Michael Walls, Scott Palmer and Andy Fries. Anderson won $2,000, $1,000 of which was donated to by the Friends of Tyler Horst Breast Cancer Awareness. Anderson donated the $ 1,000 bonus back to the charity.

Nick Dibella was the Pure Stock winner over Lane Hessong, Charlie Pensinger, Darrin Younker and Tony Catlett, while Gary Proctor was the Hobby Stock winner over Michael Hyatt and Joe Rogers.

Pat Cannon’s fifth win of the year at Selinsgrove Speedway came in Saturday night’s Joe Whitcomb Memorial as he scored the win over Josh Beard, Jason Shultz, Derek Locke and Larry Kelleher.

Jeff Rine won for the fifth time in Late Model action at Selinsgrove over Donnie Schick, Jim Bernheisel, Matt Cochran and Chad Davis.

Stan Wanner won Saturday’s Super Sportsman feature at Williams Grove Speedway over Chris Meleason, Kenny Edkin, Carmen Perigo and Bobby Hockenberry, while Bobby Beard was the Grove 358 Late Model winner over Gene Knaub, Randy Stoudt, Wes Alleman and Grant Adams.

Brad McClelland won a second-straight 358 Sprint car main Friday at Trail-Way Speedway over Austin Hogue, Joe Trone Jr. Shane Hoff and Cris Eash, while Knaub was the 358 Late Model winner over Travis Mease, Cam Zeigler, Tyler Armstrong and Billy Wampler.

Chuck Clise won a first Late Model Main of the year Friday at Bedford Speedway over Jeff Rine, Steve Campbell, Matt Parks and Corey Weaver, while Robby Black was the Limited Late Model winner over Kyle Lee and Dave Leidy.

In just limited starts this season in the Paul Crowlowned Late Model, Rick Eckert picked up his fourth win of the year Saturday night in the Paul Johnson Memorial for Late Models at Winchester Speedway. He defeated JT Spence, CS Fitzgerald, Stevie Long and Gary Stuhler, with Tyler Hershey finishing sixth.

Chad Layton won the Father’s Day 410 Sprint car feature Sunday at Susquehanna Speedway over Tim Shaffer, Blane Heimbach, Don Kreitz and Lance Dewease, while Austin Hogue took the 358 Sprint car win over Kevin Nouse, Brad McClelland and Tyler Ross.

Return to top