2013-06-13 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The fifth annual Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek concluded last Wednesday night as Gregg Satterlee was crowned the 2013 Speedweek champion.

Last week, we told you Vic Coffey won the opener at Potomac, while Jason Covert scored the win at Hagerstown, and Sunday night was rained out at Winchester.

Speedweek picked up Monday at Roaring Knob where it was Satterlee scoring the win over Jamie Lathroum, Davey Johnson, Coffey and Jared Hawkins, with Tyler Hershey coming home in the sixth spot.

Speedweek then hit Port Royal Speedway last Tuesday where Rick Eckert began his hot streak with his first of two-straight wins as he backed it up in the series finale Wednesday at Lincoln Speedway.

At Port, it was Eckert over Austin Hubbard, Satterlee, Lathroum and Johnson, with Hershey not qualifying in the 42-car field.

Eckert’s win at Lincoln came over Satterlee, Coffey, Dan Stone and Johnson with Hershey 22nd.

Satterlee ended the week with 707 points for his firstever championship and earned the $4,000 cash prize along with a 2014 Schaeffer Oil sponsorship worth $2,000. Coffey ( 696), Dan Stone (646), Covert (572) and Lathroum (525) were the top-five point finishers.

Andy Anderson had quite a memorable night Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway where he came from 12th starting spot not once but twice to score the double win in Late Model Sportsman action.

Anderson’s first win came in the makeup Bill Bowman Special over Paul Cursey, Terry Flaherty, Scott Palmer and Mike Walls, while win number two came over Billy Farmer, Justin Weaver, John Baker and Kyle Lear.

Darrin Younker won the Pure Stock feature over Drew Fitzsimmons, Kevin Boyer, Rick Stouffer and Tony Catlett, while Tom Caravello won the Hobby Stocks over Jason Sarver and Dylan Welsh.

Fred Rahmer won his 168th career Lincoln Speedway Sprint Car Main Saturday night as he defeated Brian Montieth to win the Daryl Gohn/Glenn Gohn Memorial, with Lance Dewease, Todd Rittenhouse and Gerard McIntyre Jr. completing the top five.

Tyler Ross won a careerfirst 358 Sprint Car Main at Lincoln over Austin Hogue, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Dale Hammaker and Brian Allman.

Dave Darland was the USAC Sprint Eastern Storm winner Saturday at Port Royal Speedway over Daron Clayton, Bryan Clauson, Brady Bacon and Chase Stockon.

For the second-straight week, Pat Cannon scored the 358 Sprint car winner at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night over Jason Shultz, TJ Stutts, Ryan Kissinger and Derek Locke.

Coleby Frye used a late race pass on Jeff Rine to score the win in the Paul Stine Chevrolet Late Model championship worth $2,500. He defeated Rine, Bryan Bernheisel, Jim Yoder and Jim Bernheisel.

Russ Mitten scored his first Super Sportsman win Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway over Jay Fannasy, Mike Enders, Frankie Herr and Scott Geesey, while Larry Baer took the Grove 358 Late Model win over Jake Jones, Travis Mease, Scott Richwine and Tommy Slanker.

JT Spence was the Saturday night Late Model winner at Winchester Speedway over Keith Jackson, CS Fitzgerald, Trever Feathers and Brad Omps.

For a record sixth time in his career, Scott Bloomquist took the big $100,000 prize in the Dream Late Model race Saturday at Eldora Speedway over Dennis Erb Jr. and Brian Birkhofer, with Late Model Speedweek champion Satterlee making the show and finishing 25th.

Thanks to Michael Wagner’s Facebook post, we found out that his brother, Logan Wagner, was the PASS 305 Sprint car winner Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park. The win was his sixth of the season, while Michael came from the rear of the field to place fifth. SSP doesn’t send out press releases until way past weekend deadlines so no Late Model results were available Sunday night.

Greg Hodnett won Sunday night’s Roy Morrall Tribute 410 Sprint car feature at Bedford Speedway over Chad Layton, Mike Wagner, Lance Dewease and Danny Dietrich. Logan Wagner made a start in a 410 at Bedford as well timing seventh but then suffered a flat during the feature.

Return to top