2013-06-13 / Sports

Garrett Bard Wins At Path Valley

Garrett Bard, 600cc Micro Sprint winner. Garrett Bard, 600cc Micro Sprint winner. Early last week the weather forecast called for rain Thursday, Friday and Saturday. They were right for the first two, but the skies cleared on Saturday, and the rain gave the racers a very fast and tacky racing surface.

The 270cc Micro Sprint feature was the first one out. The race got off to a very rocky start with two cautions and two red flags before the first lap was completed. Once they did get a lap in, Daryl Beakler led the way from starting on the pole with Josh Stoyer in close pursuit. The race was stopped again for another red flag on Lap 2 and slowed three more times by caution after that. Stoyer stayed right with Beakler and found the opening he needed, taking the lead on Lap 10. Ryan McAndrew moved past Beakler for second on Lap 17, and the final caution on Lap 19 set up a two-lap shootout. Stoyer pulled away on the restart to claim his first feature win in 2013. McAndrew finished second, Beakler in third, with Greg Robinson fourth and Brandon Hawkins fifth. Beakler and Stoyer were the heat race winners.

The 600cc Micro Sprint feature started out as a runaway as Timmie Barrick started first and was leading by nearly half a lap at the halfway point. Two laps later Barrick got crossed-up with someone he was trying to lap and by the time he got heading in the right direction, Jim Young and Garrett Bard were right with him. Young and Barrick made slight contact going through turns 1 and 2, which slowed both of them and allowed Bard to drive by on the inside. Bard kept control after that, leading Barrick and Young across the finish line. Fourth went to Steve Whary and David Holbrook came home fifth. Heat wins went to Whary, Devin Beidel, and Young.

Pete Neal claimed his second win in a row in the Classic Racing Series at Path Valley. Neal started first and led every lap, but was closely pursued the entire event by Roland Brown. Brandon Little also closed in to make it a three-way battle for the lead. Neal never made a mistake and neither Brown nor Little could find their way around him. The top-five finishers were Neal, Brown, Little, Charlie Summers and Neal Reamer. A post race incident led to the disqualification of Steve Cantwell. Matt Wallace and Neal won the heat races.

Lance Yeager became the first driver at Path Valley to win both features in the same night for the ACMS Stock 600cc Micro Sprints. Yeager led all 15 laps in both events, and Alyssa Rowe finished second in both. In the first event it was Devin Garman third and Sean Garman fourth, and Sean Garman got third in the second feature.

The Legend feature was the final event, and it was a classic battle between two of the area’s better Legend drivers that ended with a win by inches. Bob Stough started second and grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag. Lucas Montgomery moved from fifth up to second on Lap 5 and then the battle began. Stough was running the bottom groove, and Montgomery kept looking for a way to get to the inside of Stough. Montgomery finally got to the inside, but Stough found enough traction one groove up to stay in front. Coming off the final turn Stough drifted up slightly, letting Montgomery to the inside once again. The drag race was on down the final straight, and Montgomery prevailed by mere inches. Chris McKinney posted a solid third place, finishing ahead of Chris Transeau and Chris Spidle. Heat races were won by McKinney, Montgomery and Rick Miller.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, June 14: Street Stock, Super Stock, Mini Stock, 4- Cyl. Thunder Car, Strictly Stock, plus Late Model sponsored by George’s Used Cars.

Return to top