2013-06-06 / Sports

Rasp Wins At Path Valley

John Rasp, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner. John Rasp, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner. Steve Bailor has been struggling with an engine issue all of 2013. The team had replaced everything except the engine itself. Last week they finally found the problem, made the correction, and did it ever show on Friday night.

The Mini Stock feature was the first event after the autograph session during intermission. Jeremy Ott was driving a car he just recently purchased from Austin Kirby. Two hours before the races started and they were still finishing up getting the car ready to go. Ott immediately found the car to his liking. Mark Grove led the first five laps until Ott got to his inside and took the lead on Lap 6. Ott steadily pulled away after that, leading the final 15 laps for the win. Grove held off Jason Stoner to finish second with Shane Sixeas fourth and Bill Kennedy fifth.

Leading the Super Stock feature seemed to be a tough place. Adam Imes led the first two laps and then was slowed by a flat tire. evin Hart took over from there, but he could only hold off Bill Powell until Lap 7. On Lap 8 Powell took his turn at the point, only to also suffer a flat tire while leading Lap 10. Hart again showed the way, but was under pressure from Curtis Guyer. The two leaders were putting the back of the field a lap down when Guyer made slight contact with Ryan Norris. Norris spun to the infield and Guyer was put to the tail end of the lead lap cars for causing the caution. Hart was not challenged over the final three laps, leading Austin Johnson to the line by several car lengths.

John Rasp dominated the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature, leading all 20 laps for the win. Rasp was leading by nearly half a lap when the only caution waved on Lap 17. Robert McQuade finished second, followed by Troy Showalter, Shaun Linn, and Dalton McQuade.

In the Late Model heat races George Dixon and Steve Bailor put on a great show, running absolutely door-to-door for the first four laps. When it came feature time Bailor left no doubt about it, blasting into the lead right on the start and leading all 25 laps for the win. Wes Bonebrake was the best of the rest, coming home second.

Ken Singer outran Wayne Hawbaker to win the Street Stock feature with Josh Gustaf third.

Chris Anderson returned with his super-quick Acura, and he spanked the Strictly Stock field, leading all 20 laps and lapping all but second place.

The racing action at Path Valley Speedway Saturday night was almost as hot as the weather. The track conditions were dry and slick, putting a premium on chassis setup and throttle control for the driver.

After an autograph session during intermission the 270cc Micro Sprint feature was the first to the track. Brandon Hawkins started second and showed the way through the first five laps, which included three cautions. On the restart for Lap 6Sean McAndrew drove to the inside of Hawkins and into the lead. Two laps later Ryan McAndrew took over second, recovering quickly after being involved in an accident on the initial start. The event stayed green the rest of the way, and Ryan could not close the gap on his brother, Sean, and he had to settle for second. This was Sean’s second win this year at Path Valley while the brothers have combined to win five of the first seven features. Hawkins held on to finish third, ahead of Adam Warn- er and Jason Houtz.

In the first of two Sidewinder Sprint features, Mike Zielonis captured his first win at Path Valley by leading all 15 laps and had a lead of several seconds at the finish. Second through fifth went to Jason Stahl, Ben Houtz, Reed Salony and Rich Halter.

The second feature saw Reed Salony showing the way from the pole position with Rich Halter in close pursuit. Salony was driving the low groove while Halter went up top. Halter finally found the traction he needed exiting Turn 2 on the final lap as he drove around Salony and into the lead. This is the second time that Halter has won the second feature at Path Valley this year. Mike Zielonis closed in on the leaders after starting at the rear, but was still a few car lengths behind Salony at the finish. Jason Stahl finished fourth and Brandon Yarlett fifth.

Kody Lehman and Zack Newlin started on the front row of the PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint feature, and Lehman took the lead at the drop of the green. Newlin stayed right with Lehman while the leaders pulled away from Logan Wagner in third. Lehman and Newman were both running the low groove when Lehman hesitated just a moment when he caught up to a slower car. That moment of hesitation gave Newlin his chance and he took control with an inside move as they raced down the backstretch. Newlin ran the last three laps to perfection, leading by three car lengths at the end. The win is the first for Newlin in the PASS 305 Sprints and comes in only his sixth start in the series. Following Lehman across the line were Logan Wagner, Tyler Reeser, and Mike Wagner. Mike and Logan Wagner were the heat race winners.

The 600cc Micro Sprint feature saw seven caution periods and all but one were for multi-car spins in Turn 2. Steve Whary started first and was able to keep Jim Young and the rest of the field behind him all 20 laps to claim victory. There was some controversy, as one of the wrecks happened right in front of the leaders and Whary was almost involved, coming almost to a stop to avoid the other racers. It was deemed that Whary did not come to a complete stop and was allowed to retain his position at the front of the field. Dwayne Gutshall recovered from a spinout on Lap 2 to finish third, ahead of Kameron Morral and J.D. Harman.

Return to top