2013-06-06 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The fifth annual Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek kicked off Friday night at Potomac Speedway where Vic Coffey scored the 40-lap Late Model win over Kenny Moreland, Dan Stone, Jason Covert and Kenny Pettyjohn.

Speedweek continued Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway where it was Jason Covert leading all 40 laps for the $5,000 payday in his second win at the track this season. He defeated Gregg Satterlee, Dan Stone, Tyler Hershey and Austin Hubbard. Marvin Winters was 22nd, while Frankie Plessinger did not qualify.

Late Model Speedweek was rained out Sunday night at Bedford and was to continue through Wednesday and those results will appear in next week’s column.

Kevin Boyer and Drew Fitzsimmons split Pure Stock feature wins. Boyer won the regularly scheduled Main over Rick Stouffer and Darrin Younker, while Fitzsimmons’ win came in the rained-out Main from May 18 over Younker and Steve Lowery.

Alan Krimes won for the first time this season in Friday night 410 Sprint car action at Williams Grove Speedway, defeating Rick Lafferty, Fred Rahmer, Don Kreitz and Greg Hodnett.

Lady racer Brie Hershey captured a career-first Grove 358 Sprint car win over Eric Tomecek, Adrian Shaffer, Kevin Nouse and Ted Thomas Jr.

It was all Danny Dietrich in Saturday night 410 Sprint car action at Lincoln Speedway where he dominated for his second win of the year over Brent Marks, Billy Dietrich, Cory Haas and Alan Krimes,

Austin Hogue became the first repeat winner in 358 Sprint car action at Lincoln with a convincing win over Dale Hammaker, Tyler Ross, Jay Galloway and Niki Young.

Chad Layton dominated Saturday night’s 410 Sprint Car Main at Port Royal Speedway for his 10th career track win over Greg Hodnett, Doug Esh, Steve Buckwalter and Mike Erdley. Mike Wagner finished 11th.

Glenn Elliott won a career first Late Model Main at the Port over Matt Parks, Terry Naugle, Tim Wilson and Chris Casner.

Pat Cannon won a 44th career 358 Sprint car feature Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway over Mark Smith, Jason Shultz, Larry Kelleher and Matt Horst, while Jeff Rine picked up career win number 82 in Selinsgrove Late Model action over Bryan Bernheisel, Tony Adams, Matt Cochran and Kenny Trevitz.

After finishing second for the last three weeks, Brad McClelland stepped it up a notch to win Friday’s 358 Sprint car feature at Trail- Way Speedway over Jeff Rohrbaugh, Robbie Kendall, Isaac Sneeringer and Randy Whisler.

Harrisonville’s Logan Wagner continued his dominance on the PASS 305 Sprint series with a Friday night win at Clinton County Speedway. He won over Jeff Miller and Nathan Gramley.

Rance Garlock won a career first Super Late Model Main Friday at Bedford Speedway over Jeff Rine, Matt Cosner, DJ Troutman and Chad Hollenbeck, while Curtis Heath won the Limited Late Models over Travis Stickley and Donnie Farling.

Chad Criswell won the Super Sportsman feature Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway over Doug Dodson, Jay Fannasy, Scott Geesey and Rick Barr, while Grant Adams survived a 12- car first lap crash to win the Limited Late Models over Travis Mease, Wes Alleman, Jake Jones and Bobby Beard.

Return to top