2013-06-06 / Features

MHS Class Of 2013 Awarded Scholarships


Senior girls representing McConnellsburg High School’s Class of 2013 share a song with those in attendance last Wednesday evening. Senior girls representing McConnellsburg High School’s Class of 2013 share a song with those in attendance last Wednesday evening. Members of McConnellsburg High School’s Class of 2013 donned their caps and gowns last Wednesday evening to say farewell and honor their finest for achievements in academics, sports and even citizenship. Eighteen awards and scholarships were bestowed upon the class members as part of the May 29 graduation ceremony that took place in the middle/ high school auditorium.

Leading the way was class valedictorian Andrew Smith, who took home in excess of $6,500 to further his education. Smith was the recipient of the Distinguished Graduate Award as well as the Chester J. Creager Memorial Scholarship ($1,500), Fulton County Medical Center Scholarship ($1,500), Marion Hess Sprenkle Scholarship ($2,000), McConnellsburg Women’s Club Scholarship ($500), American Legion Post #561 Award ($800) and the Ashlyn’s Angels Scholarship ($250).

Sydney Kerlin followed with $3,600 in scholarships and awards last Wednesday having been awarded the Fulton County Medical Center Scholarship ($1,500), the Marion Hess Sprenkle Scholarship ($2,000) and the Beta Sigma Phi Scholarship ($100). Meanwhile, class salutatorian Kylie Zittle was given the Marion Hess Sprenkle Scholarship ($2,000) and the Community State Bank Scholarship ($1,000).

Senior Jesse Swope took home several scholarships, including the Harrisonville Fraternal Order of Eagles Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 and the Helen I. McLaughlin Scholarship totalling $1,300, while Nikki Fleming was the recipient of the C. Owen Fries Scholarship ($900) and the Lois Stevens Scholarship ($2,000).

Kinesha Lowery took center stage on several occasions during the award ceremony portion of graduation services. Lowery received $100 from the McConnellsburg Woman’s Club Special Achievement Award and along with Shaheen Jefferson was awarded the Striving to Educate People Scholarship. David Welsh received a $500 citizenship award from VFW Post #655, and Larry Wilson also took home $500, but through the Allegany College of Maryland Scholarship.

Classmate Brandi Welsh was recognized with a Distinguished Graduate Award, and outstanding senior athletes were Libby Strayer, Hunter Miller, Swope and Fleming.

 FCCLA Award: Corrina Parsons, Jessica Jenkins and Hailey Berkstresser

 Leon and Lois Stevens Scholarship ($1,500): Hailey Berkstresser

 Sandy Run Landfill Award ($1,000): Corrina Parsons

 Helsel Fine Arts Scholarship ($300): Olivia Mills

 McLaughlin Scholarship ($1,000): Corrina Parsons

 American Red Cross Award ($250): Rachel Chagoya, Paige Sechrist and Nicole Cutchall

 Fraternal Order of Eagles, Harrisonville Award ($1,000): Emily Horton

 Ashlyn’s Angels Scholarship: Corrina Parsons

 Dubois Business College Scholarship (1/4 tuition): Jessica Jenkins

 Ben Knepper Scholarship: $400 to Hailey Berkstresser and Jessica Jenkins; $50 to Corrina Parsons, Madison Shafer and Erin Downey

 Community State Bank of Orbisonia Scholarship ($1,000): Jessica Jenkins

 VFW Award ($500): Jessica Jenkins

 American Legion Award ($800) - Corrina Parsons

 Forbes Road Alumni Association - Olivia Mills ($1,500), Hailey Berkstresser ($750) and Jessica Jenkins ($450)

 Forbes Road Lions Club Award: Corrina Parsons ($300) and $50 to Samantha Clippinger, Shayla Carmack, Paige Sechrist, Nicole Cutchall and Madison Shafer.

 Beta Sigma Phi Award: Corrina Parsons

 Fulton County Medical Center Foundation Award: Paige Sechrist

 Reed Feight Perseverance Award: Emily Horton

 Joshua T. Wilt Scholarship: Samantha Clippinger

 Vo-tech Awards: Dalton Gilbert and Trevor Martz.

Return to top