2013-05-30 / Sports

Wagner Wins At Port Royal

By Brad Vores

Pictured above is Logan Wagner, second from left, who won at Port Royal Saturday night, along with his mom, dad and brother Michael. Pictured above is Logan Wagner, second from left, who won at Port Royal Saturday night, along with his mom, dad and brother Michael. Hagerstown Speedway was in action two times over the Memorial Day weekend.

Friday night, the Three State Flyers Late Model series was in town where Kenny Pettyjohn recorded a career-first track win after leading all 35 laps of the event.

Pettyjohn scored the win over Dan Stone, Jeremy Miller, JT Spence and Trever Feathers. Tyler Hershey had a 12th-place finish, Marvin Winters 13th, while Frankie Plessinger did not qualify.

Chad Criswell was the Super Sportsman tour winner over Steve Wilbur, Dave Socks, Gregg Foster and Duaine Smith.

Saturday night it was Justin Weaver taking the win in the Late Model Sportsman feature event for his first win of the year over Kyle Lee, Frankie Plessinger, Rick Hulson and James Lichter.

Dave Stouffer Jr. was the Pure Stock winner over Steve Lowery, Kevin Boyer, Darrin Younker and Chris Ebersole.

Michael Hyatt won the makeup Hobby Stock feature that was rained out last week over Gary Proctor and Kenny Thomas, while Thomas won the regular Hobby Stock Main over Hyatt and Proctor.

Danny Lasoski captured a career-first Port Royal Speedway feature win Saturday night after a late-race pass to win the Fallen Heroes 25- lap event. He defeated Blane Heimbach, Chad Layton, Harrisonville’s Mike Wagner (who also set fast time in time trials) and Greg Hodnett.

It was a good night to be a Wagner at the Port as the Wagner boys, Logan and Michael, finished first and second in the PASS 305 Sprint Car Main, with Logan scoring the win, his second straight at the track.

He came from the 12th starting spot and took control 15 laps away and never looked back in the win as his brother, Michael, came on late for the runner-up spot over Eric Parker, Jason Bergstresser and Jeff Miller Jr. Mark Watkins was 12th.

Coleby Frye won the Late Model feature over Eric Zembower, Nick Dickson, Chris Casner and Terry Naugle.

Jason Shultz won his second 358 Sprint car feature Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway over Pat Cannon, Colby Womer, Phil Walter and Josh Beard, while Dylan Yoder picked up his second Late Model win at the track over Jim Bernheisel, Donnie Schick, Jerry Bard and Jim Yoder.

Brian Montieth was the fifth different leader in Saturday’s 410 Sprints Hilly Rife Memorial at Lincoln Speedway and turned it into his fourth overall win on the season. He won over Fred Rahmer, Danny Dietrich, Alan Krimes and Brent Marks.

Fifteen-year-old Chandler Leiby won his firstcareer 358 Sprint car feature over Tyler Ross, Austin Hogue, Niki Young and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Jeff Rohrbaugh was the Friday night 358 Sprint car winner at Trail- Way Speedway over Brad McClelland, Austin Hogue, Mike Bittinger and Tim Wagaman.

JR Rodriguez won the 358 Late Model feature Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park over Randy Stoudt, Billy Wampler, Chase Billet and Charles Potts.

Rick Barr was the Saturday Night Series Super Sportsman winner at Williams Grove Speedway over Bobby Hockenberry, Frankie Herr, Doug Dodson and Dave Socks, while Gene Knaub nabbed his first 358 Late Model win of the year over Randy Croop, Wes Alleman, Travis Mease and Matt Nailor.

Brent Marks picked up the 410 Sprint car win Sunday night at Selinsgrove Speedway over Greg Hodnett, Blane Heimbach, Pat Cannon and Rick Lafferty.

Chad Trout led all 20 laps to win his first-ever Super Sportsman feature at Selinsgrove over Gregg Foster, Scott Geesey, Chris Meleason and Carmen Perigo.

And the Wagner name was back at it in PASS 305 Sprint action at Selinsgrove, but this time it was Michael Wagner getting his first feature win of the season. After finishing second to his brother, Logan, the previous night, Michael turned the tables on Logan Sunday as Logan raced home in the runner up spot over Freddie Rahmer, Jason Bergstresser and Tyler Bear.

Mark Pettyjohn and Jeremy Miller were big Late Model feature winners Sunday at Hesston Speedway in the Mega Blitz Mach 3 event. Pettyjohn won the first feature over Devin Friese, Jeremy Miller, Jim Yoder and Dylan Yoder, while Miller came back to win race two over Pettyjohn, Friese, Jamie Lathroum and Jason Covert.

George Dixon, Jr. won the Limited Late Model Main at Hesston over Tim Smith Jr., Curtis Heath, Eric Irvin and Robbie Black.

Friday night racing at Williams Grove and Bedford speedways was both canceled due to the cold weather.

The fifth annual Harbaugh’s Amusement Machines Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek is set to kick off Friday night and will run straight through next Wednesday. The series will invade Potomac Speedway for the first time ever on Friday night followed by Hagerstown Speedway, Winchester Speedway, Roaring Knob Motorsports Park, Port Royal Speedway and Lincoln Speedway. Tim Mc- Creadie is the defending series champion.

Return to top