2013-05-23 / Sports

Two First-time Winners At Path Valley

Two drivers out of the six winners Friday night at Path Valley were experiencing firsts. For one it was his first win in a Late Model and for the other it was his first-career feature win.

It took Kyle Martin nearly two years to win his first feature at Path Valley in the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car division. He now has his first winning streak as he followed the win two weeks ago with a dominant performance this week. Martin started second and led all 20 laps of the nonstop event, leading by nearly a full straightaway at the finish. Martin was followed across the line by John Rasp, Shaun Linn, Robert Mc- Quade and Dalton Mc- Quade. Heat race checkers went to Dalton McQuade.

Ken Singer and Greg Moore started first and second in the Street Stock feature. Twenty laps later and they were still that way. Moore kept pressuring Singer for all but a few laps, but Singer made no mistakes and held his ground to take the win. That snaps a fourrace win streak for Moore dating back to last season. Josh Gustaf finished third, ahead of Mike Desch and Ryan Sager.

In the Late Model feature, Patrick Bryner started on the pole and paced the field for the first 11 laps. Eric Irwin chased down Bryner, making the pass for the lead with an inside move on Turn 2 of Lap 12. The only caution waved late in the event, putting Wes Bonebrake on Irwin’s back bumper for the restart. Irwin kept Bonebrake a car length or two behind for the remaining laps to take his first win in a Late Model. Bonebrake was followed by George Dixon, Larry Baker and Jim O’Hara.

Mike Duck brought back the same car Terry Norris violently flipped just six weeks ago and led the Super Stock feature flag-to-flag for the win. Duck was actually passed by Rick Potter, but Potter slipped high, and Duck turned back to the inside to recapture the lead. Potter continued to pressure Duck for the lead until pitting with mechanical issues just past halfway. After that Duck was never challenged, beating Devin Hart by a full straightaway. Third through fifth went to Curtis Guyer, Carl Miller and Austin Johnson. Rick Potter and Austin Johnson won the heat races.

Gary Dehart is officially “on a roll.” Dehart easily outdistanced the Mini Stock field for his third win in a row and fourth out of the last five. Korey Washinger, making his first start in 2013, set the early pace, leading the first five laps. Dehart took over on Lap 6 and never looked back. Washinger held off Mark Grove for the second spot, with Dan Smith in fourth and Shane Sixeas fifth.

For the first time in 2013 the Strictly Stock feature winner was not Justin Williamson, or Chris Anderson driving Williamson’s car. Charlie Stallman led the field to the green flag and showed the way for the first half. Williamson took over the lead on Lap 11 and looked poised to return to victory lane. But Williamson made contact with T.J. Bookwalter as he was putting him a lap down, and the result was a flat right rear tire for Williamson. Williamson stayed on track, but his wounded race car could not keep up the pace and Ricky Weaver drove by, taking the lead on lap eighteen, just before the only caution period of the event. After the restart Bobby Wellman drove around Weaver, leading the final two laps for his first-ever win. Weaver maintained second, with Bookwalter third. Justin Williamson was credited for fourth and Charlie Stallman fifth. The heat race win went to Charlie Stallman.

May 17 results

4-Cyl. Thunder Car: 1. Kyle Martin, 2. John Rasp, 3. Shaun Linn, 4. Robert Mc- Quade, 5. Dalton McQuade, 6. Troy Showalter.

Street Stock: 1. Ken Singer (Robertsdale), 2. Greg Moore, 3. Josh Gustaf, 4. Mike Desch, 5. Ryan Sager, 6. Brad Long.

Late Model: 1. Eric Irvin (Petersburg), 2. Wes Bonebrake, 3. George Dixon, 4. Larry Baker, 5. Jim O’Hara, 6. Patrick Bryner, 7. Steve Stitt, 8. Kyle Wiser.

Super Stock: 1. Mike Duck ( James Creek), 2. Devin Hart, 3. Curtis Guyer, 4. Carl Miller, 5. Austin Johnson, 6. Deron Henry, 7. Adam Yetter, 8. Adam Imes, 9. Rick Potter, 10. Ryan Norris, 11. Curt Dunn.

Mini Stock: 1. Gary Dehart (Waynesboro), 2. Korey Washinger, 3. Mark Grove, 4. Dan Smith, 5. Shane Sixeas, 6. Rusty Garlock, 7. Tom White, 8. Shaun Patterson, 9. Jacob Carbaugh, 10. Bill Kennedy.

Strictly Stock: 1. Bobby Wellman, 2. Ricky Weaver, 3. T.J. Bookwalter, 4. Justin Williamson, 5. Charlie Stallman, 6. Nathan Woolley.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, May 24: Street Stock, Super Stock, Mini Stock, 4-Cyl. Thunder Car, Strictly Stock.

Saturday, May 25: Everlast Windows Night – 600cc Micro Sprint, Penn-Mar Vintage, Stock 600cc Micro Sprint, 270 Road Show.

Return to top