2013-05-09 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Mike Wagner returned to Port Royal Speedway victory lane Saturday night for the first time since the 2010 season.

Wagner started on the front row of the 25-lap 410 Sprint main and took control on Lap 2 and held off all challengers to capture his 10th career track win aboard his Wagner’s Painting, Ott Brothers Appliance, Hershey Racing Engines, Clugston Lumber Company No. 55. Wagner defeated Rick Lafferty, Chad Layton, Dylan Cisney and Mike Erdley.

Matt Parks continued his early season hot streak with his fourth overall season win in Late Model action after claiming his second win of the year at the Port.

Parks used a final lap pass on Steve Campbell to score the win over Campbell, Tim Wilson, Terry Naugle and Brett Schadel, with Marvin Winters crossing sixth.

Terry Flaherty ended a long dry spell at Hagerstown Speedway with a win Saturday night in the Late Model Sportsman feature. The win was his first since the 2009 season, and it came over Paul Cursey, Scott Palmer, Justin Weaver and Andy Fries. Frankie Plessinger finished eighth.

Darrin Younker was the Pure Stock winner over Charlie Pensinger and Rick Stouffer. Gary Proctor won the Hobby Stocks and Ryan Laye won the 4-cylinders.

Rick Lafferty came out on top of Friday’s 410 Sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway over Steve Buckwalter, Jim Siegel, Gerard McIntyre and Greg Hodnett, while Kevin Nouse won the 358 Sprint car main over Austin Hogue, Rodney Westhafer, Mark Smith and Tim Berkheimer.

Brian Montieth paid tribute to the late Weldon Sterner by carrying the Sterner Cement #69 colors to victory in Saturday’s Weldon Sterner Memorial at Lincoln Speedway. Montieth used a late race move to get around Fred Rahmer and scored his third win of the year over Rahmer, Jim Siegel, Greg Hodnett and Alan Krimes.

JB Cunningham won a career- first Lincoln 358 Sprint car main over Tim Wagaman, Dale Hammaker, Scott Fisher and Chase Dietz.

Eric Tomecek was also a first-time feature winner Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway in the 358 Sprint car feature over Pat Cannon, Jason Shultz, Duane Mausteller and Derek Locke, while eight- time track champion Jeff Rine captured his 80th career Late Model win at the track over Jim Yoder, Andy Haus, Bryan Bernheisel and Dylan Yoder.

Scott Geesey won Saturday night’s Super Sportsman main at Williams Grove Speedway over Chad Criswell, Eric Eckert, Mike Enders and Chris Meleason. Grant Adams ended a perfect weekend with his second straight weekend Late Model win over Roy Miller, Shaun Jones, Jared Miller and Jake Jones.

Jeff Rohrbaugh was the Friday night 358 Sprint car winner at Trail-Way Speedway over Brad McClelland, Cris Eash, Robbie Kendall and Jason Cunningham, as Grant Adams scored the 358 Late Model win over Travis Mease, Cam Zeigler, Shaun Jones and Steve Billet.

Justin Kann captured a career-first Late Model win Friday at Bedford Speedway over Steve Campbell, Matt Parks, DJ Troutman and Matt Cosner, with Wayne Johnson placing seventh.

Robby Black was the Bedford Limited Late Model winner over Tim Smith Jr. and Dave Leidy, with Scott Daniels ninth.

Gregg Satterlee enjoyed a great weekend with two wins, including a Friday Three State Flyers win at Eastside Speedway, then won the Lee Stultz Memorial for Late Models at Winchester Speedway over Jamie Lathroum. Gary Stuhler, Jeremy Miller and JT Spence, with Tyler Hershey ninth.

Return to top