2013-05-09 / Local & State

Henney Plays “Super Sub” At Path Valley

As Ryan Sager was preparing his car to race, a slight mishap in the garage resulted in a bruised wrist and a broken finger. Sager still wanted his car to race, so he invited Bill Henney to drive. The combination was an instant success.

Early in the evening Henney came from the rear of the field to win the heat race and just kept on rolling in the feature, starting first and driving away from the pack, leading all twenty laps to claim the win. Mike Desch and Wayne Hawbaker battled for second, with Desch getting the spot. Ken Singer finished fourth and Devin Whitsel fifth.

Gary Dehart held off pressure from Mark Grove in the Mini Stock feature until Grove suffered mechanical failure and pulled to the infield with six laps to go. After that Dehart was unchallenged, winning his second feature in a row. Troy Cramer out ran Bill Kennedy for second, while Grove was credited for fourth and Jacob Carbaugh fifth. Frank Gordon won the heat race.

George Dixon is now twofor two in Late Model action at Path Valley this year. This time Dixon started first and led all 25 laps. Dixon built up a lead of six car lengths or more in the middle stage, but needed all of it when he caught the tail end of the field in the final laps. Eric Irvin closed in on Dixon over the final five laps, but could not make a serious challenge for the lead, eventually losing second place to Andy Friese when Friese got by on the final straightaway. Kyle Wiser had his own issues early in the night, stepping on a nail before coming to the track and then losing a rear brake caliper in the heat race. Wiser’s perseverance paid off with a solid fourth-place finish, just ahead of Wes Bonebrake. Heat race wins went to Ralph Morgan and Bonebrake.

In the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature Kyle Martin started third but wasted no time powering into the lead by the end of Lap 1. With Martin leading, the battle for second was fierce between John Rasp, Dalton McQuade and Shaun Linn. McQuade finally cleared the pack and closed in on the lead. When McQuade caught Martin he made light contact in Turn 1, but it was enough to turn himself sideways and into the infield. After that Martin was unchallenged and went on to claim his first win at Path Valley. McQuade held on to second, ahead of Linn, Rasp and Jim Truax. McQuade was the heat race winner.

One week after inheriting a win due to disqualification, Devin Hart made no doubt about this one. Hart started second and led all 20 laps for his third win this year. Carl Miller posted a strong second place finish ahead of Curtis Guyer, Adam Imes, and Austin Johnson. Johnson claimed the heat race checkers.

The first two weeks of the season, Justin Williamson drove a car owned by his brother, Chris Anderson, and he won both races. This week Williamson returned the favor and so did Anderson, leading all 20 laps for the win. Charlie Maneth held off Williamson, who was in the car normally run by Charlie Stallman, for second place. Glenn Wilson finished fourth and Heath Rauch fifth. The heat race win went to Maneth.

Path Valley Speedway has run four events for Micro Sprints in 2013, and so far there has been a McAndrew in victory lane every time.

Sean McAndrew looked to be the early favorite in the 270cc Micro Sprint feature when he started third and was leading before Lap 1 was complete. A caution regrouped the field on Lap 4 and on the restart Josh Stoyer made his move and powered into the lead. While Stoyer was showing the way, Ryan McAndrew was working his way toward the front from his ninth-place starting spot, taking over second from his brother, Sean, on Lap 10. Ryan McAndrew had caught Stoyer when the final caution waved on Lap 14. On the restart Stoyer stretched his lead back to three car lengths. Going into the final turn Stoyer caught a slower car, causing him to check up for just a moment. But that was all it took as Ryan McAndrew dove to the bottom and into the lead, snatching the win in the final half lap. The win is his third in four races this year after taking off all of 2012. Stoyer held on to second, ahead of Sean McAndrew, Greg Robinson and Matt Campbell. Campbell came up light on the scales after the race, giving Cody Hackenberry fifth place. Heat race wins went to Eric Forsythe, Brent Bull and Sean McAndrew.

The Sidewinder Sprints are using a twin feature format this year. In the first feature Jason Stahl started first and led all 15 laps, holding off Josh Chess for the win. Third through fifth went to Ben Houtz, Christian Wright and Zach Overmiller.

In the second feature it was all Rich Halter. Halter started second and led all 15 laps, winning by nearly half a lap. Zach Overmiller held off a charging Jason Stahl for second, with Josh Chess in fourth and Ben Houtz fifth.

The PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint feature was won by rookie John Braim. Braim was making only his sixth start in the 305s and he parlayed the pole position and strong restarts into leading flag-to- flag for the win. Lance Newlin struggled with the slow pace of the restarts, but recovered for an impressive second-place finish. Craig Myers finished third, ahead of Alex Schanz and Marcus Defreitas. It was Defreitas first race back at Path Valley after completely destroying his race car in a violent crash early last season. Braim and Newlin also won the heat races.

Todd Hoover claimed his first win at Path Valley in the 600cc Micro Sprint feature, the final event of the evening. Gunner Layton led the first lap, giving way to Hoover on Lap 2. Dwayne Gutshall ran second until losing the handle and spinning out in Turn 2 on Lap 14. That moved Timmie Barrick to the runner up spot, but Hoover was not to be denied, pulling away by a few car lengths in the final laps for the win. Barrick finished a strong second, with Layton holding on to third. Steve Whary made a late race charge to finish fourth, and Mike Duncan rounded out the top five. Heat race wins went to Whary and Gutshall.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, May 10: Street Stock, Super Stock, Mini Stock, 4- Cyl. Thunder, Strictly Stock and a kids bicycle race during intermission.

Saturday, May 11: 270cc & 600cc Micro Sprint plus Classic & Legend and 600 Stock Micro Sprint

Return to top