2013-05-02 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Doug Esh dominated the field to score the big $12,000 payday in Saturday night’s All-Star Circuit of Champions Bob Weikert Memorial at Port Royal Speedway.

Esh took the lead early and drove away for the big win in front of a packed house at the Port. He took the win over Brad Sweet, Dale Blaney, Danny Lasoski and Cap Henry. Mike Wagner had a good run in the sixth spot.

Andy Anderson scored the big Steel Block Bandits win Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway, which was his second win of the season at the track. Anderson beat Justin Weaver, Rick Hulson, Gene Knaub and Tyler Armstrong. Frankie Plessinger finished 22nd.

Tony Catlett picked up win number two in pure stock action over Kevin Boyer, Darrin Younker, Kevin Koontz and Drew Fitzsimmons, while Gary Proctor won the Hobby Stock main over Kenny Thomas and Mark Vegh.

Don Kreitz Jr. turned in a superb effort Friday night to set back the All-Stars at Williams Grove Speedway, keeping the winning streak for the PA Posse alive at the track over the traveling group. He defeated Fred Rahmer, Tim Shaffer, Lance Dewease and Alan Krimes.

Brian Montieth was back in victory lane Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway as he won the 410 Sprint car main over Adam Wilt, Fred Rahmer, Cory Haas and Alan Krimes.

Niki Young became the fifth winner in five 358 Sprint car events at Lincoln in the win over Ryan Wilson, Scott Fisher, Austin Hogue and Ted Thomas Jr.

Tim Wagaman picked up his first 358 Sprint car win Friday at Trail-Way Speedway over Austin Hogue, Brad McClelland, Mike Duncan and Robbie Kendall.

Matt Parks made it two for two in Bedford Speedway Late Model competition this season as he scored the win on Friday night over DJ Troutman, Matt Cosner, Gene Knaub and Jeff Rine. Wayne Johnson was 17th.

Dave Leidy won Bedford’s Limited Late Model feature over Rick Singleton, Craig Perigo, Curtis Heath and Eric Irvin, Scott Daniels placed 10th.

Jason Shultz won his first 358 Sprint car main of the year Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway over TJ Stutts, Mark Smith, Colby Womer and Derek Locke.

Dan Stone topped the Late Model championship at Selinsgrove, scoring the $2,500 payday over Jeff Rine, Dylan Yoder, Jim Yoder and Ken Trevitz.

Rich Eichelberger topped the Saturday Night Series Super Sportsman feature at Williams Grove Speedway, taking the win over Chris Meleason, Frankie Herr, Kenny Edkin and Gregg Foster.

Wes Alleman made it two straight in the Grove 358 Late Model class with the win over Jake Jones, Scott Richwine, Eric Irvin and Sam Gallagher.

Randy Stoudt picked up his first career 358 Late Model win Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park over Billy Wampler, JR Rodriguez, Kyle Martin and Justin Ehrhart.

Jason Bergstresser was the PASS 305 Sprint car winner over Craig Myers, Freddie Rahmer, Mark Watkins and Ryan Lynn. Michael Wagner was leading the 305 race with five laps to go but spun out while attempting to lap a slower car. His brother, Logan, made a crosscountry flight from California in time to race at SSP where he finished ninth.

Jamie Lathroum won Friday’s Three State Flyers Late Model series event at Winchester Speedway over Jason Covert, Gregg Satterlee, Kenny Pettyjohn and DJ Myers. Tyler Hershey was 20th.

DJ Keefer won Saturday’s Thunder Car main at Hill Valley Speedway over Shawn Fessler and Jeremy Moore, while Chase Shaw picked up the Mini Stock feature win over Jeremy Ott and Nathan Shaw.

Sean McAndrew was the 270 Micro Sprint winner at Hill Valley over Gary Keister and Mason Peters, while Cale Reigle won the 600 Micros over Gunner Layton and AJ Best. Carl Snare was the Hobby Stock winner over Alex Boozel and Brad McGinnis.

Return to top