2013-04-25 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Jimmy Owens has finally tasted victory at Hagerstown Speedway.

The defending Lucas Oil Late Model Series champion dominated Saturday night’s Lucas Oil series event at the Maryland oval and came away with the big $10,000 payday in his first-ever track win.

Owens took the lead on lap five and drove to the win over Earl Pearson Jr., Vic Coffey, Steve Francis and Gregg Satterlee. Marvin Winters had a 12th place finish while Tyler Hershey and Frankie Plessinger did not qualify.

Rick Singleton won the RUSH Dirt Late Model Series 30-lap feature over Glenn Elliott, Mike Pegher Jr., Chad McClellan and Joe Martin.

Logan Schuchart became the seventh different winner in eight 410 Sprint car features this season at Lincoln Speedway.

Schuchart’s Saturday night win was his first career win at Lincoln and it came over Cory Haas, Adam Wilt, Fred Rahmer and Brian Montieth.

Austin Hogue continued his early season, hot streak in the 358 sprint car ranks as he scored the win at Lincoln, also a career first. The win was his third overall this season, all three at different tracks. He defeated Niki Young, Tyler Ross, Mark Smith and Brad Mc- Clelland.

Rick Barr kicked off the 2013 Saturday Night Series in winning fashion as he scored the Super Sportsman feature win at Williams Grove Speedway. Barr defeated Russ Mitten, Paul Miller, Frankie Herr and Jay Fannasy .

Wes Alleman won a spirited battle with Jared Miller to take the opening night 20-lap 358 Late Model feature win with Larry Baer, Charlie Schaffer and defending champ Gene Knaub completing the top five.

Chad Layton led all 25 laps of Saturday night’s 410 Sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway.

Layton survived heavy pressure from Mike Erdley before scoring his ninth career track win ahead of Erdley, Lance Dewease, Danny Lasoski and Rick Lafferty with Mike Wagner finishing 10th.

With his regular Saturday night track canceled due to cold weather, Jeff Rine invaded Port Royal and left with his 10th career win in the 20- lap Late Model Main. He took the win over 12th starter Matt Parks with Terry Naugle, Mike Lupfer and Tim Wilson the top five/

Harrisonville’s Logan Wagner made it two straight winning weekends in PASS 305 Sprint car action as he scored the 20-lap win at Port.

Wagner, who won last week at Susquehanna Speedway, came from eighth to take the lead on lap five and never looked back in the win over Mark Watkins, Kody Lehman, Tyler Bear and Lance Newlin. Michael Wagner was 11th.

Randy Christine Jr. wired the 25-lap 358 Late Model win Saturday night at Susquehanna Speedway Park winning over Billy Wampler, J.R. Rodriguez, Steve Billet and Chris Knopp.

Williams Grove, Bedford and Trail-Way Speedway all had their Friday night shows rained out while Selinsgrove Speedway pulled the plug on its Saturday show, citing cold temperatures as the reason.

DJ Keefer picked up the Saturday night thundercar win at Hill Valley Speedway over Justin Rasp and Jeremy Moore while Ronnie Garlock was the Mini Stock winner over Jason Stoner, Chase Shaw and Nathan Shaw. Tim Smith Jr. took the Limited Late Model win over George Dixon Jr., Ralph Morgan, Eric Irvin and Dave Leidy, while Greg Moore won the street stocks over Ken Singer and Jared Fulkroad.

Return to top