2013-04-11 / Local & State

Co-op To Host Annual Meeting April 12

All co-op members are invited to attend Valley Rural Electric Cooperative’s 2013 Annual Meeting, set for 7 p.m. April 12 at Huntingdon Area High School.

Member registration will begin at 6 p.m. and scenic photos of the co-op’s service territory will be presented 6:30-7 p.m. The meeting will commence with the playing of the national anthem, followed by an invocation.

Valley REC President and CEO Wayne Miller will review how technological innovations are allowing the co-op to operate more efficiently and further increase service reliability. Next, co-op board Chairman James Stauffer will speak about the role members play as owners of the cooperative.

The focus will then shift to election of three co-op board members. During open nominating procedures held in February, the following candidates were selected: District 7 – David Wright, Needmore, Fulton County and Gregory Henry, Hustontown, Fulton County; District 8 – Earl Parsons, Blairs Mills, Huntingdon County, and Linda McMath, Shade Gap, Huntingdon County; and District 9 – Cindy Bigelow, Williamsburg, Blair County. The three directors elected at the meeting will represent the entire co-op membership for a three-year term.

The event will conclude with entertainment by vocalist Joanne Stiffler who will present “A Tribute to Patsy Cline.” Children will enjoy a big-screen presentation of Dr. Seuss’ “The Lorax,” refreshments and a presentation by 2012 Huntingdon County Dairy Princess Samantha Bliss of Huntingdon.

Each registered member at the meeting will receive a $15 credit on his/her electric bill and an indoor/outdoor thermometer. Members will also be eligible to win one $250 or one of three $100 coop gift certificates.

In addition, meeting attendees may bring with them any spent compact fluorescent light bulbs (compact spirals only) and cooperative staff will properly dispose of them. For more information about the annual meeting, call 814-643-2650 or toll-free 800-432-0680.

Return to top