2013-04-04 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Hagerstown Speedway was finally able to kick off the 2013 season Saturday night as Racin’ Jason Covert scored the big win in the Three State Flyers Late Model feature win.

Covert came from his seventh starting spot to take the lead on Lap 26 and never looked back in scoring his 100th career win in his racing career over Gregg Satterlee, Rick Eckert, Nick Dickson and Dan Stone. Marvin Winters finished 11th, while Frankie Plessinger and Tyler Hershey did not qualify out of the stout 44-car field.

Kevin Boyer won the Pure Stock feature over Tony Catlett, Steve Kent, Danny Beavers and Drew Fitzsimmons.

Mark Pettyjohn won Friday night’s Three State Flyers main at Winchester Speedway over Eckert, Covert, JT Spence and DJ Myers, with Hershey placing seventh.

Fred Rahmer extended his winning streak to 24 years with his season opening Friday night win at Williams Grove Speedway.

Rahmer has won at least one 410 Sprint car feature for the past 24 years at the track, with his first of this year coming over Ryan Taylor, Brian Montieth, Greg Hodnett and Don Kreitz.

Carmen Perigo Jr. won the Grove’s Super Sportsman feature over Russ Mitten, Leroy Martin, Jay Fannasy and Scott Dellinger.

Brent Marks became the first repeat 410 Sprint winner in the area this season with his second win of the year Saturday at Lincoln Speedway over Montieth, Alan Krimes, Rahmer and Adam Wilt.

Mike Bittinger was Lincoln’s 358 sSprint car winner over Tim Wagaman, Niki Young, Jeff Rohrbaugh and Brie Hershey.

Port Royal Speedway kicked off its 2013 season with a marathon 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature that saw NASCAR Sprint car regular Dave Blaney score the upset win.

The event, which took more than 90 minutes to complete due to many crashes, saw Blaney take the lead with four to go and win over Rick Lafferty, Blane Heimbach, Chad Layton and Cliff Brian. Mike Wagner was involved in an incident late in the event and finished 13th.

Scott Haus won the Late Model feature at the Port over Brett Schadel, Mike Lupfer, Chris Casner and Derek Byler.

Mark Smith won Selinsgrove Speedway’s opening 358 Sprint car feature Saturday night over Pat Cannon, Josh Beard, TJ Stutts and Austin Reed, while Dylan Yoder won a thrilling Late Model feature over Dave Zona, Jeff Rine, Ken Trevitz and Jim Yoder. Yoder took the lead coming off the fourth turn for the checkered flag.

Return to top