2013-03-28 / Sports

McQuade Wins Opener At Path Valley

Dalton McQuade, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner Dalton McQuade, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner A few brave souls, eager to get their racing fix, came to Path Valley Speedway for the season opener despite the chill in the air.

In a strange twist, four of the five features were won by the same driver that won the last time the track was open back in October.

Dalton McQuade used a fast car and a little luck to win the first feature of the year in the 4-Cylinder Thunder Cars. McQuade took the lead from Shaun Linn on Lap 3 but surrendered the lead to Kyle Martin on a Lap 5 restart when his engine started to miss. McQuade’s lucky break came when Troy Showalter climbed the front stretch wall and then came to a stop bringing out the caution. Mc- Quade went to the pits where his crew made a quick repair and sent him back out. He regained the lead on Lap 11 and led the last 10 laps for the win. Martin finished second, ahead of Showalter and Linn. McQuade also won the heat race.

Mark Grove also received a nod from “Lady Luck” in capturing the win in the Mini Stock feature. Shane Sixeas led the first four laps until Eric Seibert powered by. Seibert stretched out a sizeable lead while Mark Grove was working past Sixeas and Gary Dehart to move into second. Grove was closing the gap on Seibert but appeared that he would not catch Seibert in time. That was until Seibert got a flat rear tire with just under five laps remaining. As Seibert slowed Grove took control, leading the final three laps for the win. Dehart also got by Seibert to finish second with Sixeas finishing fourth. The heat win went to Seibert.

The Super Stocks were the largest field of the day with seven drivers signed in. Curtis Guyer won the last two features of 2012 and made it three in a row by passing Devin Hart for the lead with two laps to go. Hart had led the first 18 laps, but his car was smoking most of the way, and he could not hold off Guyer at the end. Austin Johnson passed Hart on the final lap to take second, while Joey Burdge and Deron Henry completed the top five. Guyer was the heat race winner

Greg Moore dominated the five- car Street Stock field, taking the lead from Ronnie Garlock on Lap 5 and proceeding to lap the field after that. Derek Grabill made the change from Super Stock to Street Stock and finished second, ahead of Rich Earhart and Garlock. The heat race win went to Ronnie Garlock.

Justin Williamson must have liked what he saw in the Street Stock feature as he also lapped the entire field en route to winning the 4-Cylinder Strictly Stock event. Williamson was followed across the line by Andrew Benson, Heath Rauch and Alex Boozel.

Next Saturday these same five divisions will compete and be joined by the Penn-Mar Vintage cars.

Return to top