2013-02-06 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Nearly four months after its final event of the racing season, Port Royal Speedway held its annual awards banquet Saturday night at the Port Royal community building.

Harrisburg’s Chad Layton was honored as a two-time 410 Sprint car champion, driving the Dave Middleswarth owned No. 7 sprinter. According to the press release, Layton received a championship ring and a Goodyear Racing championship jacket.

Harrisonville’s Mike Wagner finished runner-up in the 2012 Port Royal points.

Special awards in the 410 division went to Doug Esh (Sportsmanship), Nate Snyder (Rookie) and Blane Heimbach (Most Improved).

Lewistown’s Tim Wilson recorded a career-first Late Model track title at the Port, winning by a mere five points over Brett Schadel.

Mike Lupfer (Sportsmanship), Schadel (Most Improved) and Trent Breneman (Rookie) won special awards.

John Heane was the 2012 pro stock champion, and Jason Zook was the Enduro champion.

Port Royal opens its 2013 season on Saturday March 16 with 410 and 358 Sprints. Many improvements have been done to the track during the off-season.

Mechanicsburg Sprint car driver Rodney Westhafer lost a lot of his Sprint car equipment in a gararge fire Satur- day night. The fire was caused by a faulty wood stove. Westhafer finished eighth in 358 points at Williams Grove last season and was planning on doing double duty with both 410 and 358 Sprint racing in 2013. The fire will obviously put a hamper on the team’s plans for at least the early part of the season. No one was injured.

That’s a wrap as we continue to the countdown for the February 23 opener at Lincoln Speedway, but one thing is for certain, the weather is going to need to warm up!

Until time, e-mail hits me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top