2012-10-04 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Donny Schatz made history Saturday night in the 50th annual World of Outlaws Williams Grove National Open.

The four-time and current World of Outlaws point leader held off a determined Brian Leppo over the final laps to score his fifth career National Open win to become the only five-time winner of the biggest race of the year at the track.

Schatz’s win was worth $50,000, and it came over Leppo (who was driving a second CBJ Motorsports car), Cody Darrah, Daryn Pittman and Paul McMahan, with Stevie Smith, Lucas Wolfe, Lance Dewease, Sam Hafertepe and Greg Hodnett completing the top 10. Hodnett flipped on the first lap.

McMahan won the Friday night preliminary feature in the CJB Motorsports car, his first win in just his fourth start with his new team. McMahan will be the new driver for the team in 2013 as well as the balance of this season.

He took the win over Greg Hodnett, Kerry Madsen, Tim Shaffer and Wolfe, with Smith, Kraig Kinser, Schatz, Steve Kinser and Jac Haudenschild the top-10 finishers.

With two point races remaining at Williams Grove, Greg Hodnett has already clinched the 2012 410

E-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top