2012-09-20 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Winchester, Va., racer J.T. Spence had a dominating weekend at Hagerstown Speedway and came away with the top prize in Saturday night’s Small Car Nationals for Late Model Sportsman.

Spence set quick time in time trials on Friday night, then dominated Saturday’s feature after taking control with 14 laps complete. He earned $2,000 for his second win of the year at the Maryland oval.

He defeated Kyle Lear, Andy Fries, Justin Weaver and Terry Flaherty. Cory Houck was 24th.

Mike Franklin won the $2,000 payday in the Pure Stock feature over Chris Ebersole, Dave Kaiser, Greg Diehl and Tony Catlett.

Tommy Whitt was the 4- cylinder winner in the Small Car Nationals over Ryan Laye and Kevin Thomas, while Michael Hyatt won the Hobby Stock Main over Kenny Thomas and Gary Proctor. The Tommy Thompson Demo Derby was won by John Pittman.

For the second-straight year, Pat Cannon was crown-ed the Jim Nace Memorial 410 Sprint National Open Champion at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Cannon won the second 22-lap segment of the Nace Memorial and, combined with his eighth-place finish in the first feature, that gave him the overall title again.

Danny Lasoski won the first segment over Greg Hodnett, Chad Layton, Daryn Pittman and Danny Dietrich, while Cannon’s win came over Blane Heimbach, Mark Smith, Hodnett and Layton.

Dylan Yoder won the 25- lap Late Model feature at Selinsgrove over Steve Campbell, Chad Hollenbeck, Mitch Hack and Jeff Smith.

Scott Dellinger came from his 10th starting spot and held off a spirited challenge from Scott Geesey to score his second career win in the Lawrence Chevrolet Sportsman 100 Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

Dellinger took the lead from Steve Fannasy on the 27th lap and then fended off the challenges of Geesey before earning the win and the $5,166 payday, which included $1,166 in lap money.

Paul Miller finished third over last year’s winner, Carmen Perigo Jr. and Russ Mitten.

Bobby Beard led all 20 laps to win the 358 Late Model feature over Charlie Schaffer, Grant Adams, Chase Billet and Pat Beard.

Jim Siegel started on the pole of Friday night’s 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature and turned it into a win at Williams Grove Speedway. Adam Wilt finished in the runner up spot over Doug Esh, Cory Haas and Ryan Smith.

Isaac Sneeringer started on the front row and never looked back in his 30-lap Trone Outdoor 358 Sprint car championship Friday at Trail-way Speedway. His second-straight win came over Steve Owings, Mike Bittinger, Brad McCelland and Tim Wagaman.

Gene Knaub won for the second-straight week and fourth time this season in 358 Late Model action at Susquehanna Speedway on Saturday. Knaub’s win came over Randy Christine Jr., JR Rodriguez, Bud Witmer and Ben Whitaker. Carl Billet is the 2012 SSP Late Model track champion.

Kody Lehman was the PA 305 Sprint Series winner at SSP over Eric Parker and Matt Mountz. Mark Watkins was eighth and Logan Wagner 11th. Michael Wagner did not qualify.

Jamie Lathroum captured his biggest career win Saturday in the Lucas Oil Late Model Series race at Virginia Motor Speedway over Scott Bloomquist, John Blankenship, Don O’Neal and Earl Pearson. The win was worth $20,000.

Gregg Satterleee picked up the big $12,000 payday in the Pittsburgher for Late Models at Pennsylvania Motor Speedway in Pittsburgh. Satterlee has had quite a season.

That’s a wrap for this week as we continue to enjoy time in South Carolina. Email me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top