2012-08-30 / Sports

Racing Roundup

Brian Montieth added two more wins to his season total over the weekend as he scored wins Friday at Williams Grove Speedway and won one of the Twin 20’s Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

Friday night’s win came over Adam Wilt, Cory Haas, Brent Marks and Doug Esh.

The URC Sprints were at the Grove on Friday as Pat Cannon survived the marathon feature for the win over Ryan Wilson, Davie Franek, Robbie Stillwaggon and Josh Weller.

Lincoln Speedway celebrated its 60th anniversary Saturday with Twin 20s, and it was only fitting that the track’s top drivers – Montieth and Danny Dietrich – each take a win.

Montieth won the first feature over Brent Marks, Dietrich, Fred Rahmer and Gerard McIntyre Jr.

Dietrich came away with the feature win in the second event, which also clinched his first career Lincoln Speedway 410 Sprint track championship. He won over Cory Haas, Brian Leppo, Alan Krimes and Brent Marks.

Backing up his Friday night win, Pat Cannon came back to win Saturday’s 358 Sprint car event at Selinsgrove

Speedway over TJ Stutts, Phil Walter, Mark Smith and Cody Keller.

Matt Cochran came out on top of a thrilling battle with Jeff Rine to win the Late Model feature over Rine, Chad Davis, Jim Bernheisel and Bryan Bernheisel.

Matt Sponaugle picked up his first Late Model win Friday at Bedford Speedway over Steve Campbell, Jack Pencil, Jeff Rine and Greg Fetters, while Craig Perigo was the Limited Late Model winner over Mike Altobelli, Jr., Travis Stickley, Tim Smith Jr. and Travis Calhoun.

Chad Layton led all 25 laps to win Saturday’s 410 Sprint car main at Port Royal Speedway ahead of Harrisonville’s Mike Wagner, Lance Dewease, Mike Erdley and Greg Hodnett.

Ryan Wilson won the URC Sprint feature at the Port over Chad Trout, Bryn Gohn, Josh Weller and Robbie Stillwaggon, while Tyler Bear was the PASS 305 Sprint winner over Mc- Connellsburg’s Mark Watkins, Harrisonville’s Logan Wagner, Kody Lehman and Nathan Gramely. Michael Wagner finished ninth.

Scott Palmer won a guaranteed starting spot in next month’s Small Car Nationals with a win Saturday night in Hagerstown Speedway’s Late Model Sportsman feature. Palmer’s first win since 2010 came over Andy Fries, 2012 track champion Wayne Walls Jr., Fred Harden and Terry Flaherty. McConnellsburg’s Cory Houck was sixth. The title for Walls was a fifth career first since the 1999 season.

Darrin Younker was the Pure Stock winner over Kevin Boye.

Kenny Thomas won the Hobby Stock Main over Michael Hyatt and Matt Smith, while Hyatt won the non-feature winners Hobby Stock main over Smith and Joe Daywalt. Ryan Laye was the Mini Stock winner over Kevin Thomas and Hunter Crane.

Scott Geesey won Saturday’s Super Sportsman main at Williams Grove Speedway over Frankie Herr, Lanny Hake, Gregg Foster and Leroy Martin, while Larry Baer was the 358 Late Model winner over Wes Alleman, Jake Jones, Grant Adams and Randy Stoudt. Gene Knaub clinched the 2012 late model title, his fifth straight title at the track.

Matt Boland won a career first 358 Sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday over Joe Trone Jr., Shane Hoff, Tim Wagaman and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Travis Mease won Trail- Way’s 358 Late Model feature over Grant Adams, Pat Beard, Bernie Beard and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Justin Ehrhart won for a third time in Susquehanna Speedway 358 Late Model action Saturday over Carl Billet, JR Rodriguez, Chase Billet and Bud Witmer .

World of Outlaws Late Model races scheduled for Winchester and Selinsgrove speedways were both rained out over the weekend.

Big weekend of racing coming up as we usher out summer and get ready for some Penn State football! Don’t forget the Junaita County Fair is on tap at the Port Royal Speedway beginning Saturday and, of course, Monday’s Labor Day classic at the

Return to top