2012-08-23 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway Results

D.J. Keefer, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner D.J. Keefer, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner What a difference one week can make. Last week the Path Valley clay surface was rough and moist. This week it was smooth and dry. Two drivers were able to get back-to-back wins.

Timmie Barrick dominated the field in the 600cc Micro Sprint feature. Barrick started fourth but was leading before the end of Lap 1, and was leading by half of a lap when the checkers fell on the nonstop event. Second through fifth went to Bret Cronrath, Devin Beidel, Jim Callahan, and Gunnar Layton.

In the Mini Stock feature, Austin Kirby started seventh in the nine-car field and took the lead from Matt Williamson on Lap 3. Ronnie Garlock started eighth and followed Kirby to the front, taking second on Lap 4. Kirby and Garlock pulled away from the rest of the field, with Kirby maintaining a three- car length lead throughout to get the win. Eric Seibert finished third, ahead of Devin Whitsel and Dave Bookwalter. Heat race checkers went to Garlock.

The Classic Racing Series is a traveling series that made its third stop at Path Valley this year. Jim Crocker started second and used the high groove to lead the way. Pete Neal stayed close behind until surrendering second to Matt Wallace on Lap 7. Wallace stayed in the low groove, patiently waiting for any slip by Crocker. Meanwhile, Brandon Little had come from starting last in the 13-car field, was up to third and was just catching the two leaders when the yellow flag waved on Lap 17. On the restart, Little drove around Wallace and then moved back to the bottom to chase Crocker. Little closed in each lap, pulled alongside Crocker going down the backstretch, and took the lead through the final corner to get his first win at Path Valley and second in a row in the series. Wallace also slipped by, nipping Crocker by a foot for second place. Neal finished fourth and Steve Cantwell fifth. Crocker and Neal won their heat races.

Raymond Middaugh couldn’t catch a break in the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature. Middaugh gave chase to leader Jeremy Ott the first nine laps, but when Ott slowed with mechanical problems on Lap 10 Middaugh was caught behind him and D.J. Keefer drove past and into the lead. Middaugh lost second place to Justin Rasp on Lap 17, but Rasp had trouble getting back to speed on a restart one lap later and Middaugh was back into second. Exiting Turn 2 the final lap Middaugh pulled inside and alongside Keefer, but Middaugh carried too much speed into Turn 3, sliding up and allowing Keefer to turn back to the low groove and win the drag race to the finish line. Rasp lost power on the final straight and lost third place to Kyle Martin. Tony Hampton finished fifth. Ott was the heat race winner.

The 270cc Micro Sprint feature was controlled by Levi Peck from start to finish. Peck started first and was never challenged, leading by nearly a full straightaway at the checkers. Sean Good took second from Colby Dice on a Lap 7 restart and kept the position to the finish. Brandon Hawkins had one of his best finishes at Path Valley this year, coming home fourth, just ahead of Dave Hawkins. Heat race wins went to Peck and Jerry Palm.

Charlie Stallman won his second 4-Cylinder Strictly Stock feature in two weeks. Stallman started on the pole and sailed away, leading by half-a-lap at the end of the nonstop event. Second through fourth went to Matt Duvall, Steven Jacobs, Gary Guise, and Nathan Woolley. Stallman also won the heat race.

Doug Guise led all 20 laps to beat Aaron Frehn in the 6- Cylinder Strictly Stocks.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, August 24: Mini Stocks, 4-Cyl. Thunder Cars, Street Stocks, Super Stocks, Late Models. Saturday, August 25: N.E.E.D.T. Quads

Return to top