2012-08-16 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Just three days short of two years, Roy Deese Jr. ended his winless streak at Hagerstown Speedway with the win in Saturday’s 25-lap Late Model feature.

Deese grabbed the lead with five laps to go to score the narrow win over Ashley Barrett, Rusty Sites, Gary Stuhler and Jerry Bard. Marvin Winters was eighth and Frankie Plessinger 19th.

Big Cove Tannery’s Chris Ebersole won the 17th annual Cornett Tribute for Pure Stocks over Brian Miller and Bruce Leibowitz, while William Crook was the Hobby Stock winner over Carlisle’s Matt Smith and Dave Shatto.

Brian Montieth made a late race charge to score his third 25-lap 410 Sprint car win of the season Friday at Williams Grove Speedway. Doug Esh, Ryan Taylor, Alan Krimes and Frank Cozze completed the top-five finishers.

Nate Hammaker became the first repeat winner in Williams Grove 358 Sprint car action as he took the lead at the halfway point of the 20-lap event and went on to his second win of the year. Rodney Westhafer, Mark Smith, Pat Cannon and Jay Galloway were the top five.

Mark Smith came out on top of Saturday night’s 25- lap URC Sprint series feature at Selinsgrove Speedway, while Pat Cannon scored his fifth win of the year in the 25-lap 358 Sprint car feature.

Smith started 12th in the URC main and needed only 11 laps to make his way to the front of the field and drove away for first URC win of the year over Davie Franek, Kramer Williamson, Robbie Stillwaggon and Kevin Darling.

Cannon came from his ninth starting spot to take the lead from Phil Walter with two laps to go and drove to his 37th career track win in the 25-lap 358 Sprint car feature over Walter, TJ Stutts, Smith and Jason Shultz.

Tony Adams recorded his second win of the year in the 25-lap Late Model feature over Dylan Yoder, Dave Zona, Meade Hahn and Jim Bernheisel.

Danny Dietrich picked up his seventh win of the season at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night in the Weldon Sterner Memorial for 410 Sprints. Dietrich defeated Adam Wilt, Brent Marks, Billy Dietrich and Alan Krimes.

Matt Mountz was the Lincoln 358 Sprint car winner over Doug Hammaker, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Austin Hogue and Bob Anderson.

Ryan Taylor picked up the 410 Sprint car win Saturday at Port Royal Speedway over Dan Shetler, Cliff Brian, Davey Sammons and Rick Lafferty, with Mike Wagner finishing 11th.

Coleby Frye was the Late Model winner at the Port over Tim Wilson, Scott Haus, Mitch Hack and Brett Schadel.

McConnellsburg’s Mark Watkins picked up the PASS 305 Sprint car win at Port Royal over Jeff Miller, Steve Kennewell, Ryan Lynn and Tim Dietz. Michael Wagner was 18th and brother Logan was 20th after leading the race until four laps to go when his car suffered problems.

Leroy Martin came out on top of Saturday’s Super Sportsman feature at Williams Grove Speedway over John Stoner, Rick Barr, Paul Miller and Bobby Hockenberry.

Randy Stoudt was the Grove’s 358 Late Model winner over Charlie Schaffer, DJ Mease, Bobby Beard and Jared Miller.

JR Rodriguez scored his first-ever 358 Late Model win Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park over Chase Billet, Carl Billet, John Moser Jr. and Billy Wampler.

Donny Schatz won the 52nd annual Knoxville Nationals Saturday night. He has won the Nationals six times in the last seven years and added another $150,000 to the bank account for Tony Stewart Racing. Knoxville regular Brian Brown made it close at the finish, taking the runner-up spot over Craig Dollansky, Kraig Kinser and Jason Meyers. Fayetteville’s Lance Dewease led the PA Posse with an eighth-place finish. Daryn Pittman was 15th in the A-Main. Other Posse regulars not making the field were Greg Hodnett (had motor woes during the Bmain), Danny Lasoski (Zemco car), Fred Rahmer, Tyler Walker and Logan Schuchart.

Return to top