2012-08-16 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway Results

By Rob Keller

Jusdtin Rasp, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner. Jusdtin Rasp, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner. Soft clay from the heavy rain the day before produced and unusually rough racing surface Saturday evening at Path Valley Speedway. The two Micro Sprint features both had unexpected twists in the final laps, and one stock car driver was beaten for the first time this year.

Jerry Palm took the lead from the pole-position on Lap 1 of the 270cc Micro Sprint feature. While Palm was extending his lead, Josh Stoyer, Colby Dice and Sean McAndrew were moving toward the front after starting mid-pack. A caution on Lap 9 erased Palm’s lead. The restart featured a three-wide battle for second, with Stoyer coming out of the pack. Stoyer then chased down Palm and assumed the lead on Lap 11. Dice and McAndrew also worked past Palm and into second and third. On Lap 19 Stoyer made one mistake, but it was costly. Stoyer was pulling away while working through the tail end of the field. Going into Turn 1 Stoyer tried to go underneath Tim Smith, but ran up over Smith’s left rear tire and rolled onto his side. Stoyer was uninjured, but his race was done. Dice inherited the lead and kept McAndrew behind him the final two laps to cinch the victory. Palm finished third, ahead of Brandon Hawkins and Mike Boyer. Heat race wins went to Dice and Stoyer.

In the 600cc Micro Sprint feature, Devin Beidel appeared to be heading for victory lane for the second time, starting first and well in control. That was until Lap 16 when he brushed the frontstretch wall and then hitting the backstretch wall the next lap and rolling over. Current point leader Timmie Barrick took over from there, leading the final four laps to get the win. Mike Rynard finished second, Beidel came back to finish third, with Nathan Prazenica fourth and Bret Cronrath fifth.

Ryan Laye started third in the Mini Stock feature and drove by Myachia Bookwalter to grab the lead on Lap 2. As Laye pulled away, Bookwalter held on to second until getting a flat tire just past halfway. A caution on the final lap regrouped the field for a one-lap shootout. Laye protected the bottom, Ronnie Garlock tried the high line, and Kevin Thomas also went low. Laye held on for the win, and Thomas slipped past Garlock to finish second. Devin Whitsel came from starting last in the 19-car field to finish fourth, and Eric Seibert got fifth.

Steven Jacobs led the first two laps of the 4-Cylinder Strictly Stock feature until Charles Stallman took the lead on Lap 3. Stallman easily pulled away, leading the final 18 laps for the win. Jacobs posted his best finish of the year, holding off a fast-closing Gary Guise for second. Justin Williamson was credited with fourth and E.J. Johnson fifth. Doug Guise won the 6-Cylinder Strictly Stock feature over Aaron Frehn.

Starting third must have been the place to be with four out of five feature winners starting there. Justin Rasp started third in the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature, but was already in first by the end of Lap 1. Rasp was leading by a full straightaway before Jeremy Ott and Raymond Middaugh could get from starting in the rear of the 10- car field to second and third. Ott had closed the distance to about five car lengths when Rasp caught the back of the field with two laps to go. Jeremy Moore and Kyle Martin were racing side-by- side, leaving Rasp nowhere to go. Ott pulled to the inside of Rasp as they exited the final turn, but Rasp won the drag race to the finish line by a fender. That was the first 4- Cylinder Thunder Car feature that Ott has run in this year and not won. Middaugh was third, Jason Stoner fourth and Dalton McQuade fifth.

August 11 results

270cc Micro Sprint: 1. Colby Dice (Chambersburg), 2. Sean McAndrew, 3. Jerry Palm, 4. Brandon Hawkins, 5. Mike Boyer, 6. Cody Hackenberry, 7. Levi Peck, 8. Bryan Hart, 9. Eric Forsythe, 10. Don Roush, 11. Josh Stoyer, 12. Tim Smith, 13. Adam Warner, 14. Dane Tobias, 15. Lyle Stroman, 16. Jason Houtz, 17. Rob Best.

600cc Micro Sprint: 1. Timmie Barrick (Walnut Bottom), 2. Mike Rynard, 3. Devin Beidel, 4. Nathan Prazenica, 5. Bret Cronrath, 6. Troy Rhone, 7. Gunnar Layton, 8. Jim Callahan, 9. Bruce Garner.

Mini Stock: 1. Ryan Laye ( Ft. Loudon), 2. Kevin Thomas, 3. Ronnie Garlock, 4. Devin Whitsel, 5. Eric Seibert, 6. Chris Anderson, 7. Travis Semple, 8. Ronnie Beam, 9. Matt Williamson, 10. Eric Grubb, 11. Dylan Wilson, 12. Kurt Knepper, 13. Korey Washinger, 14. Jodie Varner, 15. Lyle Barnes, 16. Myachia Bookwalter, 17. Justin Rasp. 18. Jeff Arnesberger, 19. Bill Kennedy.

4- Cylinder Strictly Stock: 1. Charlie Stallman (Shirleysburg), 2. Steven Jacobs, 3. Gary Guise, 4. Justin Williamson, 5. E.J. Johnson, 6. Gary Watkins.

6-Cylinder Strictly Stock: 1. Doug Guise (East Berlin), 2. Aaron Frehn.

4-Cylinder Thunder Car: 1. Justin Rasp (McConnellsburg), 2. Jeremy Ott, 3. Raymond Middaugh, 4. Jason Stoner, 5. Dalton McQuade, 6. D. J. Keefer, 7. Jeremy Moore, 8. Kyle Martin, 9. Tony Hampton, 10. Robert McQuade.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, August 17: 4-cylinder Thunder-Mini Stock-Super Stock-Sidewinder-Street Stock.

Saturday, August 18: 4- cylinder Thunder- Mini Stock-270 & 600 Micro-Classic 4 & 6 Cyl Strictly Stock.

Return to top