2012-08-02 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Greg Hodnett had a big weekend in central Pennsylvania with wins Friday and Saturday nights.

Hodnett dominated Friday’s Sprint car main at Williams Grove Speedway and then took advantage of a late race blown tire by Lance Dewease to take his second win Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway.

Hodnett’s Grove win came over Brian Montieth, Doug Esh, Davey Sammons and Danny Dietrich.

Mark Smith won Friday’s 358 Sprint car main at the Grove over Eric Tomecek, Ryan Wilson, Adrian Shaffer and Brian Garland.

Like Friday night, Hodnett came from 12th starting spot for the win at the Port, his 12th overall on the year, over Fred Rahmer, Mike Erdley, Blane Heimbach and Keith Kauffman. Mike Wagner finished seventh.

Scott Haus won his 95th career Port Royal Late Model feature over Mike Lupfer, Tim Wilson, Jeff Miller and Chris Casner.

Michael Wagner dominated the PASS 305 Sprint car feature at the Port to take the win over his brother, Logan, Nate Gramley, Reed Thompson and Mark Wat-kins. By virtue of his win, Wagner becomes the all-time winningest 305 driver at the Port.

Danny Dietrich used a little racing luck to capture his sixth Sprint car win of the year Saturday at Lincoln Speedway. Dietrich found himself the leader after a Lap 19 red flag involved the two front runners, and he never looked back to take the win over Gerard McIntyre, Adam Wilt, Brian Leppo and Cory Haas.

Niki Young was the 358 Sprint car winner at Lincoln over Matt Boland, Matt Mountz, Jeff Rohrbaugh and Tyler Ross.

Colby Womer and Pat Cannon split 358 Sprint car feature wins Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Womer won the makeup race that was postponed a week ago over Cannon, Phil Walter, Mark Smith and Jason Shultz, while Cannon came back to win the regular feature over Derek Locke, Mark Smith, John Smith and Cody Keller.

Dave Zona was a firsttime season winner in Selinsgrove Late Model action over Jim Yoder, Dylan Yoder, Jim Bernheisel and Jeff Rine.

Don O’Neal came out on top of a late race battle with Steve Francis to score the big $10,000 payday in the Lucas Oil Late Model Series Concocheague 100 at Hagerstown Speedway Saturday night.

O’Neal’s first career Hagerstown win came over Francis, Jimmy Owens, Tyler Reddick and Scott Bloom-quist. Marvin Winters finished 18th, while Frankie Plessinger did not qualify.

Rick Stouffer was the Pure Stock winner over Kevin Boyer, Kenny Dillon, Charlie Pensinger and Keith Koontz.

Frankie Herr won Saturday’s Super Sportsman feature at Williams Grove Speedway over Scott Geesey, Dave Berkheimer, Carmen Perigo and Mike Enders.

Travis Mease picked up his first 358 Late Model win at the Grove over Bobby Beard, Wes Alleman, Gene Knaub and Jared Miller.

JB Cunningham was a second-time Friday night 358 Sprint car winner at Trail-Way Speedway over Mike Bittinger, Shane Hoff, Kyle Moody and Austin Hogue, while Grant Adams won the 358 Late Model feature at TW over Bernie Beard, Bobby Beard, John Baker and Fred Harden.

Jeff Rine dominated Friday night’s Late Model feature at Bedford Speedway as he scored the win over Mason Zeigler, Jack Pencil, DJ Troutman and Matt Sponaugle.

Robbie Black won the Limited Late Models over Donnie Farling, Mike Altobelli, Tim Smith and Ron Bottenfield.

Path Valley Speedway held a special 410 Sprint car race Sunday where Ohio invader Cole Duncan made the long two in worthwhile as he left with the $5,000 payday in his win over Danny Dietrich, Fred Rahmer, Daryn Pittman and Frank Cozze.

Another month has passed us by which means we are heading down the homestretch for the 2012 racing season! Until next time, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top